July 28, 2014, 01:40:08 AM

Author Topic: Wedding video help  (Read 388 times)

btaoka

• Power Shot G16
    • View Profile
Wedding video help
« on: June 25, 2014, 01:15:55 PM »
Hello all,

I've been asked last minute to video an outdoor wedding for a friend of mine this coming Saturday.  I've never really shot video before and before agreeing to do the wedding I did caution that I have no video experience (the reponse I was given was it's better than nothing).  I would at least like to do a serviceable job and was wondering if anyone had any tips, tricks, or tutorials about video shooting in general.  I have a 70D and a 6D with a 17-40L, 24-105L, 35 f/1.4L and 100mm 2.8L (I also have a GoPro3 that I may set up as well). 

With the 70D, I would like to take advantage of the touchscreen autofocus capability. My biggest concern revolves around the clicking noise from the lens while using the autofocus function.  The easy solution would be to buy (or rent) an STM lens (or an external mic), though I would like to avoid buying (or renting) as much as possible (I'm not getting paid to do this).  Does anyone have a workaround?  Because all my lenses are USM, is it better to NOT use the autofocus capability?

In terms of setup, I was thinking of setting up my 6D on my tripod with my 17-40 and letting that roll throughout the ceremony.  I was also going to use my GoPro3 for the same purpose, just from a different angle (anyone have any suggestions?).  With the 70D, I was going to use the 24-105 and a monopod to do the majority of the handheld shooting.  Does this sound reasonable?

Again I have no clue what I'm doing for videos and any help would be appreciated.  Thanks in advance!
6D, 70D, 17-40 4L, 24-105 4L IS, 35 1.4L, 100 Macro 2.8L IS, 600 EX-RT

Flickr

canon rumors FORUM

Wedding video help
« on: June 25, 2014, 01:15:55 PM »

HurtinMinorKey

• 7D
    • View Profile
    • carolineculler.com
Re: Wedding video help
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2014, 06:12:27 PM »
Hello all,