December 21, 2014, 10:54:03 PM

Author Topic: Surprise commercial use of one of my photos  (Read 3398 times)

Barrfly

• Canon AE-1
    • View Profile
Surprise commercial use of one of my photos
« on: July 27, 2014, 11:15:32 AM »
 I find myself in an odd situation .
By trade I am an Union Electrician that works on industrial and commercial jobs. In most cases right along with my tools of the trade is my camera .

In the past I've been requested by some of the contractors I've been working for to take photos of jobs for various reasons such as quality control, progress and on occasion just because they wanted a few shots for the shop. Since I was on the clock while filling these request ( and we make a pretty good hourly wage ) I was fine with taking the time to snap a few.  With the addition of photo credits listed to any public showing or I'd have no complaint . 

Also the Union Hall has from time to time requested me to photograph events or contribute some of my stock photos to show solidarity by posting them on the website or adding them with a small caption to the monthly newsletter .
 Beforehand it was always mentioned that the photos would be used be displayed in the Union Halls online gallery or possibly published in the news letter .  One thing I always require is that when it comes to use of my photos that I get proper credit for them, and they be used as agreed upon.

Yesterday while logged onto Facebook one of my Union Brother posted a photo of himself standing next to what I would call a rolling billboard , actually a trailer . On the side of that trailer was one of the photos I provided for the newsletter roughly 10X15 feet in size.
 While I feel complimented that they chose this photo but at the same time there's no indication marking it as my work nor was any permission asked from me to use it in this way.