August 01, 2014, 05:59:28 AM

Author Topic: KatzEye Focusing Screen  (Read 18072 times)

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8285
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2011, 01:16:26 PM »
How much did it cost all in for the screen, the service and shipping?

Chris


There are good ones for the 5D MK II, the 5D model will fit in the 5D MK II.

All the focus screens are made from a SLR or MF focus screen by milling it down, and, in some cases adding a light improving treatment.  The split prism is overly large for a crop camera, and exposure accuracy can be affected.

Autofocus is not affected, but manual focus may require some shims under the screen if it is not perfect without them.  Be aware that shims are often required with 5D focus screens and may be for others.  Brightscreen will supply a shim for your 5D along with the screen.

Brightscreen is where i'g go for a 3rd party screen, but there are other companies like Katzeye or haoda.

http://www.brightscreenstore.com/store/

http://haodascreen.com/sifs.aspx

canon rumors FORUM

Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2011, 01:16:26 PM »

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4434
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #16 on: November 24, 2011, 07:25:55 PM »
How much did it cost all in for the screen, the service and shipping?

Chris


There are good ones for the 5D MK II, the 5D model will fit in the 5D MK II.

All the focus screens are made from a SLR or MF focus screen by milling it down, and, in some cases adding a light improving treatment.  The split prism is overly large for a crop camera, and exposure accuracy can be affected.

Autofocus is not affected, but manual focus may require some shims under the screen if it is not perfect without them.  Be aware that shims are often required with 5D focus screens and may be for others.  Brightscreen will supply a shim for your 5D along with the screen.

Brightscreen is where i'g go for a 3rd party screen, but there are other companies like Katzeye or haoda.

http://www.brightscreenstore.com/store/

http://haodascreen.com/sifs.aspx


what about the genuine canon EG-S for the 5D2 on a 5D2? I'm looking at getting a couple, have you have any experience with these?
APS-H Fanboy

Harley

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #17 on: November 28, 2011, 11:52:40 PM »
UPDATE:
Yes, this was an excellent decision.  I don't think I will be looking back.  Any new camera I get in the future will get the same treatment.  The combination of the visual snap and the analog of the prism with the AF confirmation is ideal.  When really stopping down the viewfinder darkens some, but it also makes me slow down just a little before snapping and think about the exposure and what I need to do to stabilize or readjust.  Love it.
EOS 7D, EF 17-40mm f/4 L, Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 DG EX, FD TS 35mm f/2.8, FL 55mm f/1.2, FD 300mm f/2.8 L

Viggo

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2010
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #18 on: November 29, 2011, 03:49:05 AM »
Not "user-replaceable", hmm, does that mean that the 1d X can't have the focusing screens user-replaced also?
1dx, 24-70 L II, 50 Art, 200 f2.0 L

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13622
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #19 on: November 29, 2011, 11:31:29 AM »
Not "user-replaceable", hmm, does that mean that the 1d X can't have the focusing screens user-replaced also?

The 7D focusing screen is not user replaceable.  The 1D X focusing screen is user replaceable. 
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Drizzt321

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1668
    • View Profile
    • Aaron Baff Photography
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #20 on: November 30, 2011, 09:44:27 PM »
Additionally you can email Rachael at the website's "contact us" page.  She was extremely helpful to me through the entire process.  Drizzt321: you should ask them about the 5D mkII even though they don't show a specific product on the website.


I asked them sometime earlier this year, and the answer was no, they didn't have one for the 5Dm2.


Autofocus is not affected, but manual focus may require some shims under the screen if it is not perfect without them.  Be aware that shims are often required with 5D focus screens and may be for others.  Brightscreen will supply a shim for your 5D along with the screen.

Brightscreen is where i'g go for a 3rd party screen, but there are other companies like Katzeye or haoda.

http://www.brightscreenstore.com/store/

http://haodascreen.com/sifs.aspx


Yea, I've seen these, but I'm still kind of shying from them. Maybe I should just bite the bullet because I'm going to be buying another lens or two in mid/late Dec, and $200 isn't all that much really for a screen. The thing I'm worried about is missing the auto-focus spots. Anyone have one of the Brightscreen #5's for the Canon 5Dm2? Do the auto-focus spots still light up well?
5D mark 2, 5D mark 3, EF 17-40mm f/4L,  EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM, EF 135mm f/2L, EF 85mm f/1.8
Film Cameras: Mamiya RB67, RB-50, RB-180-C, RB-90-C, RB-50, Perkeo I folder, Mamiya Six Folder (Pre-WWII model)
http://www.aaronbaff.com

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8285
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2011, 05:51:21 PM »
The AF spots are not on the screen, and are not affected.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #21 on: December 12, 2011, 05:51:21 PM »

Ryusui

  • Guest
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #22 on: December 13, 2011, 02:55:44 AM »
Just saw a couple of YouTube videos of this thing...  I seriously want one now.

A pity I own a 5D MkII...

underjammer

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2011, 04:37:27 AM »
For you 5DmkII folks, as wickidwombat already mentioned, you can buy a genuine Canon focusing screen for your camera, though it doesn't have the split prism..  But it is signiiiiiificantly cheaper!

(one example):
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/590458-REG/Canon_3357B001_Eg_S_Super_Precision_Matte.html

Harley,

Would you say the "OptiBrite"'d matte area of the screen shows focus better than the original 7D focusing screen?  Or is it about the same?  If you happen to remember..  I have pretty much convinced myself the OptiBrite is the way to go, but I was just curious..  : D
« Last Edit: December 17, 2011, 04:40:29 AM by underjammer »

Harley

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2011, 01:34:51 PM »
@underjammer: I would say the matte portion of the OptiBrite screen shows focus much better than the factory focusing screen.  That visual "pop" into focus happens more clearly and abruptly.  It definitely beneficial when you're shooting wide open with a very fast lens -- I have an easier time getting then shallow depth of field focused in the right spot without relying on live view.
EOS 7D, EF 17-40mm f/4 L, Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 DG EX, FD TS 35mm f/2.8, FL 55mm f/1.2, FD 300mm f/2.8 L

Ryusui

  • Guest
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2011, 03:57:31 PM »
For you 5DmkII folks, as wickidwombat already mentioned, you can buy a genuine Canon focusing screen for your camera, though it doesn't have the split prism..  But it is signiiiiiificantly cheaper!
But the point is we (or at least I) want a split prism.  You're suggestiong a replacement for something that isn't actually a replacement.  It's like saying to get a 24-70 instead of a 70-200.

The suggestion is appreciated, but not exactly the same thing.

underjammer

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #26 on: December 18, 2011, 08:58:21 AM »
Harley,

Awesome!  Thanks!  : D  Sounds like the OptiBrite is definitely the way to go, then!  Cool!

Ryusui - Gotcha, gotcha, I hear you..  It isn't the same thing, that's for sure.  : (  Have you tried it, by chance?  I can imagine tight portraits or macro work being easy with it, but maybe broader subject shots being more ambiguous, but really I have no idea..  Maybe Canon is like "eh..  you can change your screen out, so here's one for a very specific use..  don't forget to take it out when you're done!"  It's a shame they don't have a split prism and/or microprism.  They are both always helpful.

Ryusui

  • Guest
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #27 on: December 18, 2011, 03:05:10 PM »
I really would like to know why the 5D is left out in the cold here.  Canon has the split and cross-split screens available for both the 1D and 1Ds.  So it's obviously not a full-frame issue.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #27 on: December 18, 2011, 03:05:10 PM »

Harley

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 165
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #28 on: December 18, 2011, 06:57:31 PM »
I really would like to know why the 5D is left out in the cold here.  Canon has the split and cross-split screens available for both the 1D and 1Ds.  So it's obviously not a full-frame issue.
I'd like to understand that, too.
EOS 7D, EF 17-40mm f/4 L, Sigma 24-70mm f/2.8 DG EX, FD TS 35mm f/2.8, FL 55mm f/1.2, FD 300mm f/2.8 L

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4434
    • View Profile
Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #29 on: December 20, 2011, 01:13:06 AM »
you can get the genuine canon EG-S screen for the 5D2 user replaceable and cost $30something
APS-H Fanboy

canon rumors FORUM

Re: KatzEye Focusing Screen
« Reply #29 on: December 20, 2011, 01:13:06 AM »