December 20, 2014, 01:43:17 PM

Author Topic: Canon 600D, Sandisk and Corrupted MOV files  (Read 1489 times)

SilviaLozza

• SX60 HS
    • View Profile
Canon 600D, Sandisk and Corrupted MOV files
« on: August 01, 2014, 05:20:46 AM »
Hello everyone!
This is my first topic so nice to meet you!

I'm a videographer based in London, to film I use a Canon 600D with different lenses and SD cards, generally Kingston and Sandisk.

I need your help to figure out a problem that happened yesterday, and that I can't understand.

I filmed 1 hour interviews and cutaways for a documentary.

Gear: Canon 600D - lens 55-250mm - SD Card Sandisk Extreme 64gb brand new, first use and formatted in the camera.

After copying the files to the hard drive I noticed that both on the hard drive and on the SD card  some files weren't previewing.
The first 10 files were fine, but the other 56 weren't giving any preview.
I tried to open them, nothing. Mac OS told me that they were not video files.
I could see the weight of the files but I couldn't open them.

I tried with every mov recovery software possible, and also with a website that analyses the file to see if audio and video are still in there, but just one of the 56 videos was recoverable.

Obviously, I've lost all the footage and luckily I can reshoot it, but if it was a wedding.. I can't even imagine.

Has something like this ever happened to you?

The thing I don't get is ... why the first 10 videos are fine?
If the first 10 are fine, so it's not the SD corrupted, but something has corrupted the file while filming...

I would love to hear your thoughts!

Silvia

canon rumors FORUM

Canon 600D, Sandisk and Corrupted MOV files
« on: August 01, 2014, 05:20:46 AM »

pablo

Re: Canon 600D, Sandisk and Corrupted MOV files
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2014, 07:28:41 AM »
Hi Silvia