December 17, 2017, 04:32:47 PM

Author Topic: Tamron 150 600 woes  (Read 22690 times)

alexturton

  • EOS M5
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • I shoot what i find interesting; nothing else
    • My flickr
Tamron 150 600 woes
« on: August 02, 2014, 01:04:01 PM »
Bought a tamron 150 600 for my 5d3 and 60d. It has AFMA problems (-6 tele, +5 wide)

Sent it back for calibration. Came back worse (-15 tele, -5 wide).

Gave up and I'm sending it back for refund.

Anyone else had problems with this lens?
Bodies: 5d mk iii, 60d
Primes: 24L 1.4, Sigma 35 1.4, 40 pancake, 50L 1.2, 85L 1.2 ii, 8mm fisheye, lensbaby, 100L macro.
Zooms: 16-35 2.8 ii, 24-70 2.8 ii, 70-200 2.8 is ii, 120-400

canon rumors FORUM

Tamron 150 600 woes
« on: August 02, 2014, 01:04:01 PM »

FEBS

  • EOS 7D Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 516
  • Action Photography
    • François Loyens Photography
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2014, 02:50:47 PM »
I don't have the tamron 150-600.  But what's wrong with a afma of -6 to 5?
Or was the afma not consistent?
Camera: 2x 1Dx mk2, 5D mk3, 7D mk2, 300D  | Prime:14 2.8Lii, 24 1.4Lii, 50 1.4, 85 1.2Lii, 100 2.8Lmacro, 300 2.8Lii, 600 4.0Lii | Zoom: 16-35 4.0L, 24-70 2.8Lii, 24-105 4.0L, 70-200 2.8Lii, 100-400 4.5-5.6 Lii, 200-400 1.4x 4.0L | TS-E 24 3.5Lii | Other: 1.4xIII, 2.0xIII, YN600EX-RT, YN560iii,Lee

Lightmaster

  • Guest
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2014, 03:16:28 PM »
no, no problems... and if the correction solved it i don´t know why the hell i would send it in...  ???

sending in only the lens doesn´t help much.. it´s a camera + lens combination thing.

alexturton

  • EOS M5
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • I shoot what i find interesting; nothing else
    • My flickr
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2014, 04:19:37 PM »
no, no problems... and if the correction solved it i don´t know why the hell i would send it in...  ???

sending in only the lens doesn´t help much.. it´s a camera + lens combination thing.

You can't correct for afma on 60d which makes for out of focus shots
Bodies: 5d mk iii, 60d
Primes: 24L 1.4, Sigma 35 1.4, 40 pancake, 50L 1.2, 85L 1.2 ii, 8mm fisheye, lensbaby, 100L macro.
Zooms: 16-35 2.8 ii, 24-70 2.8 ii, 70-200 2.8 is ii, 120-400

Atonegro

  • EOS Rebel SL2
  • ***
  • Posts: 79
  • It's not the gear, it's the eye.
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2014, 04:21:43 PM »
My eyes need -3 and -2.5, but when corrected, I can see pretty good.

When a lens needs AFMA it doesn't mean it is faulty.
If that was the case, I only had my MF-lenses left...even my 70-200 needs +2.


Send it in with your 60D, and AFMA your 5D after that.




« Last Edit: August 02, 2014, 04:24:25 PM by Atonegro »
DCS 3c, D2000, 1DS, 1DS2, 1DS3, D800e, D810 and now waiting for the 1DS-X.....or a Nikon D4X...

English is not my native language, I learned  it only a few years ago. If you don't like my spelling, I will be happy to write it in Dutch for you.

Canon1

  • EOS 6D Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 372
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #5 on: August 02, 2014, 05:40:46 PM »
no, no problems... and if the correction solved it i don´t know why the hell i would send it in...  ???

sending in only the lens doesn´t help much.. it´s a camera + lens combination thing.

You can't correct for afma on 60d which makes for out of focus shots

How do you know it was off on the 60d?  Just because it was off on the 5d means nothing. Lenses AND bodies both factor in on AFMA optimization.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2014, 06:30:07 PM by Canon1 »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 21843
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2014, 06:39:48 PM »
How do you know it was off on the 60d?  Just because it was off on the 5d means nothing. Lenses AND bodies both factor in on AFMA optimization.

+1.  I've had lenses needing >5 units on one body and none on another.
EOS 1D X, EOS M2, lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2014, 06:39:48 PM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 5-1500mm f/1.0L IS
  • ***********
  • Posts: 13752
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #7 on: August 02, 2014, 09:05:33 PM »
Bought a tamron 150 600 for my 5d3 and 60d. It has AFMA problems (-6 tele, +5 wide)

Sent it back for calibration. Came back worse (-15 tele, -5 wide).

Gave up and I'm sending it back for refund.

Anyone else had problems with this lens?

That's the unfortunate problem when buying a lens made by a 3rd party.  Its not possible to tell if its the lens, the camera, or a combination of both.  It puts lens makers in a tough spot.

With 7D's being priced so low, you might consider upgrading to one, then you will have AFMA.

AlanF

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3190
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #8 on: August 02, 2014, 10:39:00 PM »
 Mine on the 5DIII is +3 at 150mm and -7 at 600mm. On the 70D it is 0 at 600mm. It beats me why you sent it back for -6 and +5. I have worse results for expensive Canon primes.
5D IV, 5DS R, 400mm DO II, 1.4xTC III, 2xTC III, EF 1.8 STM,  EF 24-105, 100-400 II, EF-S 15-85, Sigma 150-600mm C, EOS-M5 15-45, f/2 22, 11-22, Samyang 8mm f/2.8 fisheye: sold 7D II, EOS-M, Powershot G3 X,  Sigma 10-20, EF 300/2.8 II, 70-200/4 IS.

Dylan777

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • **********
  • Posts: 5483
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #9 on: August 02, 2014, 10:59:48 PM »
Bought a tamron 150 600 for my 5d3 and 60d. It has AFMA problems (-6 tele, +5 wide)

Sent it back for calibration. Came back worse (-15 tele, -5 wide).

Gave up and I'm sending it back for refund.

Anyone else had problems with this lens?

At that state, if the images are sharp I would keep it.

philmoz

  • EOS Rebel T7i
  • ****
  • Posts: 126
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #10 on: August 02, 2014, 11:00:41 PM »
No problems here, and have had excellent service from Tamron.

I sent mine to Tamron to investigate a servo AF issue on the 5DIII - they updated the firmware and must have calibrated the lens because it's perfect at 0 AFMA wide and tele. Before it was -5 (W) to +3 (T).

Phil.

alexturton

  • EOS M5
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • I shoot what i find interesting; nothing else
    • My flickr
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2014, 04:46:21 AM »
I knew it was a problem because images were not in focus on my 60d.

Yes, i could afma on 5d3 but I refuse to spend 1000£ on a lens that doesn't work on both my bodies. I have 9 lenses all of which are calibrated perfectly (no afma require at all) across both bodies.
Bodies: 5d mk iii, 60d
Primes: 24L 1.4, Sigma 35 1.4, 40 pancake, 50L 1.2, 85L 1.2 ii, 8mm fisheye, lensbaby, 100L macro.
Zooms: 16-35 2.8 ii, 24-70 2.8 ii, 70-200 2.8 is ii, 120-400

Canon1

  • EOS 6D Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 372
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2014, 05:57:41 AM »
I have 9 lenses all of which are calibrated perfectly (no afma require at all) across both bodies.

What method of AFMA do you use?  Out of 3 pro bodies and 11 L lenses I have never had a lens and body combo that did not require AFMA adjustment.  I have also only seen a couple of lenses from other photogs over the years that did not require any afma adjustment.  You must be the luckiest camera and lens buyer in the world to get perfectly calibrated lenses and bodies...

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2014, 05:57:41 AM »

AlanF

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 3190
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2014, 06:41:20 AM »
Both the Tamron 150-600mm and the Canon 100-400mm L are much better on FF than crop - see for example
http://www.dxomark.com/Reviews/Tamron-150-600mm-f5-6.3-Di-VC-USD-Canon-mount-lens-review-New-contender/Tamron-150-600mm-f5-6.3-Di-VC-USD-vs.-Sigma-150-500mm-f5-6.3-APO-DG-OS-HSM-vs.-Canon-EF100-400mm-f4.5-5.6L-IS-mounted-Canon-EOS-5D-Mk-III-Good-overall-IQ

And look how much worse the 100-400L is on the 60D.

http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/ISO-12233-Sample-Crops.aspx?Lens=113&Camera=453&Sample=0&FLI=7&API=0&LensComp=113&CameraComp=736&SampleComp=0&FLIComp=7&APIComp=0

Like the OP I have a 5DIII and I use the Tamron on that only - I wouldn't want to use the Tamron on a 60D if I had one (and I don't use it on the 70D).

5D IV, 5DS R, 400mm DO II, 1.4xTC III, 2xTC III, EF 1.8 STM,  EF 24-105, 100-400 II, EF-S 15-85, Sigma 150-600mm C, EOS-M5 15-45, f/2 22, 11-22, Samyang 8mm f/2.8 fisheye: sold 7D II, EOS-M, Powershot G3 X,  Sigma 10-20, EF 300/2.8 II, 70-200/4 IS.

alexturton

  • EOS M5
  • ****
  • Posts: 214
  • I shoot what i find interesting; nothing else
    • My flickr
Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2014, 07:45:17 AM »
I have 9 lenses all of which are calibrated perfectly (no afma require at all) across both bodies.

What method of AFMA do you use?  Out of 3 pro bodies and 11 L lenses I have never had a lens and body combo that did not require AFMA adjustment.  I have also only seen a couple of lenses from other photogs over the years that did not require any afma adjustment.  You must be the luckiest camera and lens buyer in the world to get perfectly calibrated lenses and bodies...

I use dot tune method. Plus I return any lens with any afma inconsistencies and get another copy
Bodies: 5d mk iii, 60d
Primes: 24L 1.4, Sigma 35 1.4, 40 pancake, 50L 1.2, 85L 1.2 ii, 8mm fisheye, lensbaby, 100L macro.
Zooms: 16-35 2.8 ii, 24-70 2.8 ii, 70-200 2.8 is ii, 120-400

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Tamron 150 600 woes
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2014, 07:45:17 AM »