Gear Talk > EOS Bodies - For Stills

Can't get my 1dx to catch focus fast as 7d

(1/5) > >>

Daniel 78d:
Hello I got a new 1dx couple of months ago and it does not seem to catch focus as fast as my wife's 7d. I'm new to photography and I am still getting used to everything so it's probably a fault of mine. I also know the 1dx is a focus monster but I'm seeing a real difference.

No Mayo:
Hi Daniel,
I have never used a 7D, but I love my 1DX and also have the 1D4 (and 2 1D2s). They all focused very quickly, but what I am seeing is that the 1DX also has a better hit rate while being at least as fast as my older models. I think that it would be helpful if you could describe your experiences with the 1DX vs 7D. Is it outside tracking birds in flight? Is it in a dark wedding venue? What focus mode(s) are you using (one shot, AI servo)? Is it with a flash attached (if so, which flash, and have you installed the latest firmware that is supposed to address that issue)? Finally, has your wife always been better than you at pretty much everything (just kidding)?

Daniel 78d:

--- Quote from: No Mayo on August 10, 2014, 02:06:42 AM ---Hi Daniel,
I have never used a 7D, but I love my 1DX and also have the 1D4 (and 2 1D2s). They all focused very quickly, but what I am seeing is that the 1DX also has a better hit rate while being at least as fast as my older models. I think that it would be helpful if you could describe your experiences with the 1DX vs 7D. Is it outside tracking birds in flight? Is it in a dark wedding venue? What focus mode(s) are you using (one shot, AI servo)? Is it with a flash attached (if so, which flash, and have you installed the latest firmware that is supposed to address that issue)? Finally, has your wife always been better than you at pretty much everything (just kidding)?

--- End quote ---