December 26, 2014, 09:21:07 PM

Author Topic: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?  (Read 8295 times)

friedmud

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 217
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2011, 04:07:29 PM »

Don’t have my camera in front of me but they go something like this.

C1- my everyday settings
AV
ISO 160
AF Point Manual selection
Frame rate to burst
RAW format
AWB

C2- My here take my camera and take some pictures setting, mainly for the wife and friends that don’t have the knowledge to set ISO aperture exposure.

Almost everything is set to AUTO
Frame rate is set to single shot, hated getting 15 pictures of the same thing…
RAW format
Autofocus bracket things…

C3- Camera B&W setting (This will probably change soon since it can all be done in LR with a RAW image anyway)

AV
ISO 160
Frame rate single shot
JPEG+RAW, get a B&W image on the screen plus a color RAW copy
AF Point Manual selection

Interesting idea there on a "dummy" mode.  Do you find that it is easier for people to use than say "P" mode or full auto?

Interesting again on the B&W idea.  I too set my camera to shoot B&W when I'm out specifically for that purpose (so that the review photo is B&W and I can see how I'm doing).  I just shoot RAW though... and when LR3 first imports them they are color of course... then I have the choice to turn them back to B&W or not.  I don't mess with JPG for B&W (RAW files are great for B&W because you can push and pull on them so much more to get a dramatic look to the photo).

canon rumors FORUM

Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #15 on: December 22, 2011, 04:07:29 PM »

smirkypants

  • Guest
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #16 on: December 22, 2011, 05:41:27 PM »
Before shooting a game I'll C2 to AV wide open and the ISO I think I'll need, C3 a stop up and C1 a stop down of ISO. That way if the action moves quickly into shadow or brighter sun, a quick click and I'm there. I now flip them without thinking.

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 4579
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2011, 06:02:00 PM »
Before shooting a game I'll C2 to AV wide open and the ISO I think I'll need, C3 a stop up and C1 a stop down of ISO. That way if the action moves quickly into shadow or brighter sun, a quick click and I'm there. I now flip them without thinking.

ooo i like that setup.
APS-H Fanboy

catz

  • Guest
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #18 on: December 22, 2011, 06:18:09 PM »
None of the C-modes in use. I dial to M instead (for video):
Shutter 1/50.
ISO based on the need to correctly expose
f-stop based on the needed in-focus area and to properly expose
ND filter as needed
Picture styles:
- Cinema with default settings or possibly contrast a bit reduced or
- Technicolor with contrast set to middle or one below middle, and the reduced saturation dialed in the middle or
- Sometimes neutral with different settings (in contrast for example) or
- Depending on situation and how I can properly expose on each style
- I don't keep the "super flat" technicolor super flat if it will not properly expose that way (histogram peaking in the middle and nothing on the bottom and top ends helps no-one but just causes block artifacts, aim is always to properly expose and use all the bits there are).

To shoot stills, I increase the shutter speed as 1/50 is a bit too slow and adjust other values accordingly.
Because I shoot always RAW, I don't need to go to change the picture style back to a less flat style than I use for video as for RAW it does not matter.

I shoot the stills almost with identical settings than the video because I don't have time to switch mode (even with the C-dial). Sometimes I shoot stills with the 1/50 shutter and don't care that the motion blur will be extreme.

« Last Edit: December 22, 2011, 06:21:34 PM by catz »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 15256
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #19 on: December 22, 2011, 06:35:42 PM »
C2- My here take my camera and take some pictures setting, mainly for the wife and friends that don’t have the knowledge to set ISO aperture exposure.
Interesting idea there on a "dummy" mode.  Do you find that it is easier for people to use than say "P" mode or full auto?

I use green square/full auto for that. It maintains the image format (RAW), and most importantly, cancels back-button AF, which IIRC just putting it in P does not.

I'm going to have to figure out a 'here, please take our picture' mode for the 1D X. Any suggestions from current 1-series users?
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 4579
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #20 on: December 22, 2011, 06:41:15 PM »
C2- My here take my camera and take some pictures setting, mainly for the wife and friends that don’t have the knowledge to set ISO aperture exposure.
Interesting idea there on a "dummy" mode.  Do you find that it is easier for people to use than say "P" mode or full auto?

I use green square/full auto for that. It maintains the image format (RAW), and most importantly, cancels back-button AF, which IIRC just putting it in P does not.

I'm going to have to figure out a 'here, please take our picture' mode for the 1D X. Any suggestions from current 1-series users?

i just put it in AV and set the aperture myself and show them quickly the back button focus button on the 1D seems to work ok.

no custom modes on current 1 series, i wonder if the 1Dx will have them
« Last Edit: December 22, 2011, 06:44:40 PM by wickidwombat »
APS-H Fanboy

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 15256
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #21 on: December 22, 2011, 07:16:43 PM »
@wickidwombat - thanks!
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #21 on: December 22, 2011, 07:16:43 PM »

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *********
  • Posts: 4579
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #22 on: December 22, 2011, 07:32:29 PM »
i forgot to mention the bigger problem i find handing the camera over is most people are not used to the weight of the 1D with a heavy L lens so they wobble a bit make sure IS is on for them :)
APS-H Fanboy

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 15256
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #23 on: December 22, 2011, 07:46:53 PM »
I've noticed - I've got battery grips on both my bodies, so the weight is about the same as a 1-series. Thanks again!
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

DCMoney

  • Guest
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #24 on: December 22, 2011, 09:43:58 PM »

Don’t have my camera in front of me but they go something like this.

C1- my everyday settings
AV
ISO 160
AF Point Manual selection
Frame rate to burst
RAW format
AWB

C2- My here take my camera and take some pictures setting, mainly for the wife and friends that don’t have the knowledge to set ISO aperture exposure.

Almost everything is set to AUTO
Frame rate is set to single shot, hated getting 15 pictures of the same thing…
RAW format
Autofocus bracket things…

C3- Camera B&W setting (This will probably change soon since it can all be done in LR with a RAW image anyway)

AV
ISO 160
Frame rate single shot
JPEG+RAW, get a B&W image on the screen plus a color RAW copy
AF Point Manual selection

Interesting idea there on a "dummy" mode.  Do you find that it is easier for people to use than say "P" mode or full auto?

Interesting again on the B&W idea.  I too set my camera to shoot B&W when I'm out specifically for that purpose (so that the review photo is B&W and I can see how I'm doing).  I just shoot RAW though... and when LR3 first imports them they are color of course... then I have the choice to turn them back to B&W or not.  I don't mess with JPG for B&W (RAW files are great for B&W because you can push and pull on them so much more to get a dramatic look to the photo).

Its basically P mode, using custom settings just reinsures me that the settings I want are going to be there. Rotate to C2 turn wheel to set aperture depending on lighting conditions and let them have a go at it.

I don't like full auto because it'll pop the flash up at times where a flash isn't required (IMO). unless there's a way to disable the flash?

I was not aware I could set the picture style to monochrome with RAW format, and it'll show me a B&W image and produce a color RAW image, going to stop the JPEG+RAW. I also used this setting before I learned about LR and how great RAW images are. Thanks!

EDIT:

Whats the deal with using the back focus button on the 1D series?
« Last Edit: December 22, 2011, 09:49:08 PM by DCMoney »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ************
  • Posts: 15256
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #25 on: December 22, 2011, 09:49:00 PM »
I don't like full auto because it'll pop the flash up at times where a flash isn't required (IMO). unless there's a way to disable the flash?

Ahhh...makes sense. In green square mode, you're right - there's no way to disable the popup flash.  Fortunately not an issue for me, as the 5DII (which is the camera I'm almost certain to have in such situations) doesn't have an onboard flash.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

DCMoney

  • Guest
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #26 on: December 22, 2011, 09:57:37 PM »
I don't like full auto because it'll pop the flash up at times where a flash isn't required (IMO). unless there's a way to disable the flash?

Ahhh...makes sense. In green square mode, you're right - there's no way to disable the popup flash.  Fortunately not an issue for me, as the 5DII (which is the camera I'm almost certain to have in such situations) doesn't have an onboard flash.

I just went through the settings trying to disable it on my 7D and after looking through the menu and Q button menu found nothing. Actually the menu is so limited to what you can do I realized that's the first time I've ever put the camera into full auto mode... I've owned this body since October 09...

RC

  • Canon 7D MK II
  • *****
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2011, 10:56:09 PM »
...Mirror lockup and 2 second delay is definitely necessary on a tripod (even during the day!) for maximum sharpness.  The 7D actually makes it even more important, as the pixel pitch gets smaller the susceptibility to camera shake goes up....

Good point!  Thanks

canon rumors FORUM

Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #27 on: December 22, 2011, 10:56:09 PM »

PeterJ

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 342
    • View Profile
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #28 on: December 23, 2011, 03:01:18 AM »
I just went through the settings trying to disable it on my 7D and after looking through the menu and Q button menu found nothing. Actually the menu is so limited to what you can do I realized that's the first time I've ever put the camera into full auto mode... I've owned this body since October 09...
Not a custom function but the internal flash also won't pop if it thinks an external is attached, that's a mechanical switch so a cheap hot shoe cover will do the trick.

DCMoney

  • Guest
Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #29 on: December 23, 2011, 07:16:58 AM »
I just went through the settings trying to disable it on my 7D and after looking through the menu and Q button menu found nothing. Actually the menu is so limited to what you can do I realized that's the first time I've ever put the camera into full auto mode... I've owned this body since October 09...
Not a custom function but the internal flash also won't pop if it thinks an external is attached, that's a mechanical switch so a cheap hot shoe cover will do the trick.

Nice, just googled this and sure enough people complaining hot shoe cover disabling there flash! And for 5 bucks ill pick one up and try it out.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: What Are Your Custom Modes Set To?
« Reply #29 on: December 23, 2011, 07:16:58 AM »