July 18, 2018, 08:09:55 PM

Author Topic: Question about video on a 7Dd Mark II  (Read 3465 times)

Hector1970

• EOS 5DS R
    • Flickr
Question about video on a 7Dd Mark II
« on: April 15, 2015, 10:12:53 AM »
Hi All
I'm not very good with video technology so I can't look up the right term.
I took a video of a parade.
It looks fine except when something moves past.
Not sure how to describe it but it's hard on the eyes to watch.
It's like a small movement or breaking up of the moving object.
It's not that perceptible at first glance.
Any idea of what that might be?
If someone does know how might it be overcome.
Is it by having ia faster frame rate (or a slower one)?
The camera is on default settings (I think)
Is there any other setting to turn on / off?
Hopefully my explanation isn't too vague.
I find it hard to explain it.
Never suggested possible things to look up would be good.

canon rumors FORUM

Question about video on a 7Dd Mark II
« on: April 15, 2015, 10:12:53 AM »

Tinky

• EOS 5D Mark IV
Re: Question about video on a 7Dd Mark II
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2015, 11:37:10 AM »
Coukd be a couple of things...

Rolling shutter, dslrs have a slow scan, so the difference between the start of the scan and end of the scan is sometimes perceptable.  Vertical lines go a bit diagonal.  Usually only an issue with very fast objects, or rapid camera movements.  The 180 rule (shutter speed set to double the frame rate) can mitigate to an extent, sontry using 1/50th or 1/60th shutter speed for PAL or NTSC respectively (i.e. 24 or 25 fps, vs 30fps)

or it coukd be combing,:

Your camera is progressive.  Traditionally tvs have been interlaced.  this is a viewing environment problem.  you need to keep everything progressive in post, from your transcoding / interpretation settings, through your timeline settings, and your encoding and output settings.  most modern lcds will detect a progressive signal and display it correctly.