April 18, 2014, 11:33:17 PM

Author Topic: Can my Canon 5D Mark II remotely operate the flashes speedlite 430EXII and 580EX  (Read 14861 times)

TonyY

  • Guest
Pixel King wireless TTL trigger is your answer. It support wireless ETTL, HSS and you can adjust power via camera menu...


http://www.pixelhk.com/Proshow.aspx?id=101

canon rumors FORUM


Viggo

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1692
    • View Profile
From Pocket Wizard's FAQ:

"Why won't my units trigger when I have them right next to each other?

A PocketWizard radio slave is designed to operate at long range. Units may not trigger normally at an extremely short range of a few inches or less. Antennas that are touching each other are definitely not recommended. Move the units several inches to a few feet apart and try again."

Then why did they introduce the Speed Cycle feature?? Then the flashes MUST be right next to each other!

And the 12ft you refer to is what Pocket Wizard themselves wrote on their page, and then blamed Canon and the 580 flash.


And I use them in Norway, so I should have the better range.
1dx, 17-40 L, 24-70 L II, 85 L II, 200 f2.0 L

Viggo

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1692
    • View Profile
.... I think we have all got the message that you had problems with the Pocket Wizzards however there are thousands that haven't.

The forums do seem to have a abnormally number of frustated users of their newest version, and, of course a advertised range of over 400 ft that turned out to be 12 feet does not inspire confidence.  Of course, you can put a conductive bag over the flash and increase both the range and the flash temperture, risking heat damage. They will sell you a hard conductive box which works better, but why pay extra for the priviledge of getting acceptable performance, and to reduce the heat dissapation of your flash, which can already be a problem.

For those that get a 400 ft range with a PW and a canon 580 EX II on their camera (without modifying their flash), I'd say they are one in thousands.

Thank you !
1dx, 17-40 L, 24-70 L II, 85 L II, 200 f2.0 L

7enderbender

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 631
    • View Profile
Another cheap option is to just use a long ETTL cable on the master unit. Not as elegant but reliable and cost effective if the main objective is to get the master off camera. No alternative for a fully featured ETTL wireless system, but until I'm ready to spend several hundred dollars on something like the Odin or PW it's a great option.

http://ocfgear.com/

I have the 33'/10m version for $65 and it does what it's supposed to do for a fraction of what I'd need otherwise. Note that this of course still relies on the Canon remote flash triggering and may be unreliable in direct sunlight.
5DII - 50L - 135L - 200 2.8L - 24-105 - 580EXII - 430EXII - FD 500/8 - AE1-p - bag full of FD lenses

briansquibb

  • Guest
I am going on a shoot tomorrow - I will test at less than 12ft (although I know they work as I have had 2 slaves on a flash bracket at a wedding)- and also at more than 12ft.




briansquibb

  • Guest
Here is a video with the mini and the speedlight within 30cm of each other

http://www.pocketwizard.com/inspirations/tutorials/control_tl_introduction_mini_tt/

Viggo

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1692
    • View Profile
Here's proof otherwise:

http://photobyviggo.com/random/pw2.jpg

http://photobyviggo.com/random/PW1.jpg

These two (and the 40 other shots) are at the same manual power setting. The only difference is speed. I had the curtain showing from 1/3200s through 1/6000s, then at 1/8000s the suddenly worked. And from 1/1000s and up to  1/3200s I had no power. This was completely consistent for this day, yet , other days showed other symptoms.

After the guys over at PW customer support saw these (and my other examples and mails) they said "So sorry we can't fix this for you, please return your radio's for a full refund"

Another time I had ONE setting with the AC3 giving me consistent no power, and they said "wow, that's a strange one, never seen that". Which is the problem, the errors are never the same so it's extremely hard to figure out, other than replacing radio's and flashes.. oh yeah, I did that, nothing helped....

Here's an example of that error, and this kept showing with 100% of the shots that day.

http://photobyviggo.com/random/pocketwizard.jpg
« Last Edit: January 01, 2012, 04:16:51 PM by Viggo »
1dx, 17-40 L, 24-70 L II, 85 L II, 200 f2.0 L

canon rumors FORUM


briansquibb

  • Guest
So you are shooting in manual not eTTL then?

briansquibb

  • Guest
What are your high speed settings then?

I rarely go over 1/1000 and then probably not over 1/1500

Sun is forecast for tomorrow so I will try some high speed shots - they will be eTTL though and not using a AC3 either.

I will be on 2 flash off the camera, with a mini on camera

All my PW is at v6.00 firmware with factory defaults set
« Last Edit: January 01, 2012, 04:51:09 PM by briansquibb »

Viggo

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1692
    • View Profile
So you are shooting in manual not eTTL then?

Oh I have tried both ettl and manual mode, same story. These examples were in M mode to illustrate how the power output changes at random , even though I don't change it.

I've tried with and without the AC3 , and also used a TT5 as a transmitter to another TT5. Same story, with loads of random errors.

I often need fast speeds for portraits so I need them to work at all speeds-
1dx, 17-40 L, 24-70 L II, 85 L II, 200 f2.0 L

briansquibb

  • Guest
So you are shooting in manual not eTTL then?

Oh I have tried both ettl and manual mode, same story. These examples were in M mode to illustrate how the power output changes at random , even though I don't change it.

I've tried with and without the AC3 , and also used a TT5 as a transmitter to another TT5. Same story, with loads of random errors.

I often need fast speeds for portraits so I need them to work at all speeds-

Your experience is bad - I cant remember a failure or mis fire. Will be more interesting tomorrow as I will be watching it

Viggo

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1692
    • View Profile
0

Your experience is bad - I cant remember a failure or mis fire. Will be more interesting tomorrow as I will be watching it

I hope they work for you and everybody else, I really do, but my experience and many others as well indicate a high level of bugs with their system... wonder if the Nikon people have it the same way, haven't checked as I am trying to forget all about the flex-system...
1dx, 17-40 L, 24-70 L II, 85 L II, 200 f2.0 L

Canon-F1

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
in short.. sold my PW flex system -> too many problems.
if you want to know more have a look at their support forum!

bought phottix odin -> perfect.

had a look at the "pixel king" but to be honest for 150 euro less these triggers offer much less then the phottix odin.
the display alone on the phottix is worth 100 euros for me.
much quicker to see the settings of your groups etc. ... odin is a much better trigger.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2012, 06:01:05 AM by Canon-F1 »
6D, 5D MK2, 7D, 550D... a lot of Glass.

canon rumors FORUM


te4o

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
What are the chances that the upcoming 5D and the 1Dx can trigger our speedlites remotely?
5D3 (04/12), Carl Zeiss ZE 21, 35/1.4, 50MP, 100MP
Canon 135/2, Sigma 85/1.4
SONY RX100

Viggo

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1692
    • View Profile
None, at least for the X , as we know all the specs already.... but the interesting question for me is why? Why are we still stuck with the unless IT system from the last ice age....
1dx, 17-40 L, 24-70 L II, 85 L II, 200 f2.0 L

canon rumors FORUM