July 22, 2014, 12:16:30 PM

Author Topic: Lightroom 4 Beta now available  (Read 13094 times)

Canon-F1

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2012, 01:36:32 PM »
No Windos XP support  :-X. OMG, just when they made some great changes.

time to move on.

i mean.. what do you want with only 2GB RAM for applications in 2012 anyway.

and LR eats RAM....
6D, 5D MK2, 7D, 550D... a lot of Glass.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2012, 01:36:32 PM »

contrastny

  • Guest
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2012, 01:46:38 PM »
Has there been any additions to Lightroom 4 that help you correct flicker in time lapses?

Canon-F1

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2012, 01:57:05 PM »
Has there been any additions to Lightroom 4 that help you correct flicker in time lapses?

well that is something you do in a video application.

there is also no multiband audio editing for video clips in LR.   ;)
6D, 5D MK2, 7D, 550D... a lot of Glass.

contrastny

  • Guest
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2012, 02:20:21 PM »
Has there been any additions to Lightroom 4 that help you correct flicker in time lapses?

well that is something you do in a video application.

there is also no multiband audio editing for video clips in LR.   ;)

I Deflicker my time lapses prior to video. I've been using "LR Time Lapse" to Deflicker since you can make the adjustments to your RAW images; pre-processing on a RAW file basis rather than post processing video.

I was hoping to see more options for time lapses in lightroom 4.

Canon-F1

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2012, 02:25:00 PM »
I Deflicker my time lapses prior to video. I've been using "LR Time Lapse" to Deflicker since you can make the adjustments to your RAW images; pre-processing on a RAW file basis rather than post processing video.



isn´t that awfull slow?
but maybe worth it when you output to HD (but i doubt that).

i don´t do much TL anymore.. i used this:

http://www.granitebaysoftware.com/Products/ProductGBD.aspx

« Last Edit: January 10, 2012, 02:36:59 PM by Canon-F1 »
6D, 5D MK2, 7D, 550D... a lot of Glass.

alipaulphotography

  • Guest
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #20 on: January 10, 2012, 02:53:52 PM »
Does it have rgb curves like photoshop? Thats all I want :)


Yes! It does!

This is a really good video summarising the new features in the develop area.

Small | Large


I'm sure there will be a lot more tools we'll find out about as time goes on.

It isn't a downgrade that is for sure.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2012, 03:25:11 PM by alipaulphotography »

Picsfor

  • Guest
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2012, 05:16:40 PM »
OK, just had a quick play, importing a single 200 image shoot and playing with a single picture.

Without a doubt, this version runs leaner than V3, but then v3 was such a system hog that if they hadn't improved its system efficiency they would lost whole rafts of upgrade sales because people with a maxed out 4gb computer would have had to buy a new computer.

Now, with regards to the geo tagging thing, i don't mind it in its current form. Pretty much most of my shoots are single location shoots, and where the location various, the key wording varies - so to me it is all part of the same workflow.

Organisation seems to be pretty much the same, but the import process is much quicker.

The ability to create a book from within LR and have exported as a PDF to offer up as an eBook, or have published by Blurb Books is a welcome addition. Mrs B certainly likes it, and once i've mastered it so will i!

Some of the tweaks in the develop module are welcome, but where is my square brush tool? It seems as though Adobe are determined not to give LR the one thing that is useful in other packages - an editing tool that is not just round. It doesn't need elliptical, octagonal  or star shaped with stripes - just round or square...

Certainly enough to get me upgrading at the moment - but lets see how the final thing pans out. 

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #21 on: January 10, 2012, 05:16:40 PM »

Canon-F1

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 715
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #22 on: January 10, 2012, 05:20:00 PM »
Without a doubt, this version runs leaner than V3, but then v3 was such a system hog that if they hadn't improved its system efficiency they would lost whole rafts of upgrade sales because people with a maxed out 4gb computer would have had to buy a new computer.

in fact the beta runs SLOWER on my system then V3.6.

240 GB VERTEX 3 SSD, i7 2600k@4400GHz, 16 GB ram.
but i think that is because it has debugging code in it.
6D, 5D MK2, 7D, 550D... a lot of Glass.

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8216
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #23 on: January 10, 2012, 07:04:00 PM »
Currently using combo of Aperture and Photoshop 5 on multiple computers (with multiple copies all over the place :), and hoping to get more organized soon.  Is it worth my consolidating all my keepers into this new LR ? Is the transition easy?  Will it move (or copy) my originals as they are imported?

Its a public beta, I would use it for testing, but be aware that it may change or crash and damage or lose your work.  It won't damage your images, it never changes them, but if you do a lot of work in the next few months, it might be lost.

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8216
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #24 on: January 10, 2012, 07:10:56 PM »
Without a doubt, this version runs leaner than V3, but then v3 was such a system hog that if they hadn't improved its system efficiency they would lost whole rafts of upgrade sales because people with a maxed out 4gb computer would have had to buy a new computer.

in fact the beta runs SLOWER on my system then V3.6.

240 GB VERTEX 3 SSD, i7 2600k@4400GHz, 16 GB ram.
but i think that is because it has debugging code in it.

Yup, it runs slower in v4, no issues with v3.  I expect that it will be fine tuned.  with the same image open, windows uses slightly more ram, 2.48 gb for v4 versus 2.38 for ver 3.

nikkito

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 371
  • Argentine freelance photographer
    • View Profile
    • Facebook photo page
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #25 on: January 10, 2012, 10:57:55 PM »
Does it have rgb curves like photoshop? Thats all I want :)


Yes! It does!

This is a really good video summarising the new features in the develop area.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MeieHtruelU&feature=g-u&context=G269593aFUAAAAAAABAA

I'm sure there will be a lot more tools we'll find out about as time goes on.

It isn't a downgrade that is for sure.


This made my day, thanks for your answer :)
www.nicolaszonvi.com - www.facebook.com/zonviphoto

1D X, 5D Mk III, 5D Mk II, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 85 f1.2, 40 f2.8, 50 f1.4, Sigma 10-20 and many other toy cameras.

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8216
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #26 on: January 10, 2012, 11:15:17 PM »
For those who print or have images printed, the soft proofing is a huge issue.  So far, it does not seem to be working correctly on my pc.

DavidD

  • Guest
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #27 on: January 11, 2012, 02:53:51 AM »
No Windos XP support  :-X. OMG, just when they made some great changes.

Hmmm.

Adobe "forgot" to mention that Lightroom version 4 will not Install on XP.

This is as close as they get on the download page --

"* If you are running a 64-bit version of Windows 7 or Windows Vista,
we recommend downloading the 64-bit version of Lightroom.
To find out if your computer is running a 32-bit or 64-bit version of Windows
in Windows 7 or Windows Vista, open System by clicking the Start button,
right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties (under System,
you can view the system type). If your version of Windows is not 64-bit,
or if you are not sure, download the 32-bit version."

I sure didn't get the message from that.

To discover this I had to download the 400 megabyte file,
(tied up my computer for 2 hours) then spent some time
installing it, only to get a message --

"You need a minimum of Vista to run Lightroom"

Goodbye Adobe. You have disappointed me for the last time.

Goodbye Lightroom - just as I was getting persuaded to like
working with you.


Above all else I need a reliable OS.

Sadly IMHO -- XP is the most reliable of the Windows
(But what do I know - I've only been in the OS business
for 25 years. . .) and I'm not giving up reliability.

Yet another set of poor choices by Adobe management.

I really was hoping the Lightroom team could
get Lightroom up to professional standards
- then XP support gets ripped away.

This makes the decision to stay with DXO, Silkypix,
DCraw and RawTherapee easy. They all run on XP
just fine; in my opinion all work better than Lightroom.

« Last Edit: January 11, 2012, 01:08:33 PM by DavidD »

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #27 on: January 11, 2012, 02:53:51 AM »

Ivar

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #28 on: January 11, 2012, 04:03:23 AM »
Given that some features never made it into LR 3.0 beta that were in the final release of LR 3.0, I wonder what will be in the final release of LR 4.0 that are not in LR 4.0 beta?

I think it is not feature complete yet. I myself hope for cloning tool with movements and whatever there is to make an image even better.

Viggo

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1981
    • View Profile
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #29 on: January 11, 2012, 04:14:05 AM »
After trying out Lr4 for 30 minutes I already see that this is an incredible leap forward for raw-converting, maan I thought Lr3 was pretty good but this is crazy good. LOVE the new control-sliders and they do so much more! And the NR is quantum-leaps ahead of Lr3 which was already seriously much better than 2,6.

I think the final release just in time for when my 1d X arrives is going to revolutionize my images.
1dx, 24-70 L II, 50 Art, 200 f2.0 L

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Lightroom 4 Beta now available
« Reply #29 on: January 11, 2012, 04:14:05 AM »