July 25, 2014, 02:18:20 PM

Author Topic: A good low light- environmental portrait lens?  (Read 3400 times)

justin2099

A good low light- environmental portrait lens?
« on: February 07, 2012, 08:13:39 AM »
Hello,

I've looked throughout the forum and couldn't find any help so I thought that I would just post my question. Thanks in advance for any help!

I'm a painter who often uses photographs to work from. I just got a new Canon camera with a APS-C sensor (60D) and now I am trying to find a great lens to capture a lot of detail in low light situations and sharp enough to capture a lot of detail in the surrounding environment.  I have experimented some with the 50mm f/1.4 but I'm not sure that it is the absolute best for this situation.

I also understand that I might just need to get a really good flash/continuous lighting set up in order to achieve what I want. If so, could anyone suggest a proper gear set up?

My budget is pretty much wide open and I'm simply looking for the best gear that I can get so if you have any suggestions, thank you for your time!

canon rumors FORUM

A good low light- environmental portrait lens?
« on: February 07, 2012, 08:13:39 AM »

bainsybike

• Rebel T5i
    • View Profile
Re: A good low light- environmental portrait lens?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 11:39:34 AM »
If you want good background detail, you're going to need depth of field, and therefore a small aperture. I don't think that's compatible with low light situations if the main subject is anything that moves, so you're going to need light.

Since you're not trying to blur the background, I don't think you're looking for a classic portrait lens. I would suggest a good general purpose zoom, like the EF-S 17-55 or the 24-105 F4, depending on how wide you want to go.   

Jamesy

• 5D Mark III
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 12:09:13 PM »