June 19, 2018, 08:46:15 AM

Author Topic: Advice for shooting small kids in front of a Christmas tree  (Read 4113 times)

kat.hayes

• EOS Rebel 300D
Advice for shooting small kids in front of a Christmas tree
« on: December 20, 2017, 01:25:53 PM »
I'm still new to photography and am going to photograph a 3-yr old and a 10-month old together in front of a Christmas tree tonight. I'm going to use a 5DM3 and a 24-70mm. I also have a 600EX-RT and a large, and an extra large Flash Bender. The lighting in the room is very yellowish/warm.

What is the best strategy for getting photos of the kids while not washing out the lights from the tree? I could use a longer exposure with a tripod but then I risk motion blur from the kids moving. Will the extra large Flash Bender with the diffusion panel maintain the ambient lighting from the tree? I was thinking of shooting wide open at 2.8 to let more light in and create some blur in the background, while using Evaluative metering to account for the lighting and the kids in the front, though I'm not sure what to do with the shutter and I will just adjust ISO and needed. Would it be better to have the kids closer or farther from the tree?

Thanks for any help.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2017, 01:28:19 PM by kat.hayes »

canon rumors FORUM

Advice for shooting small kids in front of a Christmas tree
« on: December 20, 2017, 01:25:53 PM »

snappy604

• EOS Rebel SL2
Re: Advice for shooting small kids in front of a Christmas tree
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2017, 01:54:18 PM »
"Advice for shooting small kids in front of a Christmas tree"

Not a very festive activity ;-)

There are many ways. I'm sure there are more qualified people to answer this than I.