May 26, 2018, 02:47:31 AM

Author Topic: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update  (Read 5138 times)

Canon Rumors

  • Administrator
  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • *****
  • Posts: 6599
    • Canon Rumors
The “massive update” to Adobe Lightroom Classic CC released earlier this month came with a lot of bugs that made a lot of the photography community quite angry, especially considering people are now paying monthly for the software.

We’ve had a lot of comments and questions from readers about Lightroom Classic CC and if there are any other options for software. We generally shy away from making recommendations like this, but it’s inexcusable that Lightroom would suffer from the types of bugs it has after so many years of development.

From Adobe:

“We heard your feedback and felt that parts of the release didn’t uphold the level of quality that we hold ourselves to. We’re happy to report that these issues were resolved and now available for immediate download. Some of the issues resolved included converting presets, sorting and copying/pasting profiles, translation errors, along with crash fixes.”

Bug Fixes:

  • An issue where some presets were not converting to the new format.
  • An issue with B&W legacy presets where the profile resets to Adobe Standard
  • An issue where Develop presets were not sorting correctly
  • Translation errors in other languages for some profiles
  • An issue where users were unable to copy/sync Black and White Mix settings
  • Lightroom backup catalog error issues.
    • Note: To resolve corruption issue in the backed up catalogs, update to Lightroom Classic CC v7.3.1 and then back up your catalogs again. If you’re backing up your catalogs on macOS, see this known issue related to catalog compression below.
  • Known Issue on macOS only: When backing up your catalogs on macOS, Lightroom Classic doesn’t compress (zip) catalogs that have a file size less than 4 GB. As a workaround to this issue, manually compress the backed up catalog files. Compressed files take up less hard disk space. By default, Lightroom Classic saves backed up catalogs to the following location on macOS:
    • /Users/[user name]/Pictures/Lightroom/[catalog name]/Backups

You can read more about the update at Adobe.

canonrumors.com

canon rumors FORUM


BeenThere

  • EOS 7D Mark II
  • *****
  • Posts: 505
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2018, 04:04:12 PM »
Disappointing that Adobe’s quality control process has failed. The company seems to be losing it’s grip on photography software.

Mt Spokane Photography

  • CR GEEK
  • ***************
  • Posts: 14180
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2018, 04:05:50 PM »
I'm downloading now.  I just finished editing a big batch of images a week ago using the latest.  The issues were not apparent with my usage, but I would have had the issue sooner or later.

Tony Bennett

  • PowerShot SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 4
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2018, 04:21:47 PM »
All Adobe cares about any longer is making more money.

Mark Webb Photography

  • PowerShot SX60 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 3
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2018, 05:05:32 PM »
I lost track of how many crashes I had with 7.3.... I would have rolled back but I really liked the new profiles.

IglooEater

  • EOS 5DS R
  • ******
  • Posts: 897
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2018, 06:58:09 PM »
it’s inexcusable that Lightroom would suffer from the types of bugs it has after so many years of development.</p>

Yes. 

cayenne

  • EOS-1D X Mark II
  • *******
  • Posts: 1621
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2018, 07:32:50 PM »
Give On1 RAW a look (free 30 day trial)....I think I"m about to call it my LR replacement, as I'm migrating to it.

They've just added a great workflow for importing images in, which I liked in LR, renaming, and copying to work directory AND to my NAS for backup at same time.

And the masking within the RAW workflow...is truly amazing.

There's some tidbits here and there they need to work on, one being it doesn't appear they have history set up to view and be able to go back and forth on.

However, so far, they've been putting forth free updates this year and I hear another one is coming this Summer timeframe.

The price is right, they seem to be actively working on things with new features and catching up to LR on the few things they are missing.

It isn't rental....which is nice too, and you don't have someone shoving an update on you which can disrupt you like Adobe has done a few times to date....

I'd say it is worth taking a look at....30 days free to try.

HTH,

cayenne

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #6 on: April 24, 2018, 07:32:50 PM »

Ladislav

  • EOS M5
  • ****
  • Posts: 247
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #7 on: April 24, 2018, 08:12:34 PM »
Disappointing that Adobe’s quality control process has failed. The company seems to be losing it’s grip on photography software.

I doubt there is any quality control for Lightroom. They let customers do their QA and fix only those bugs which are affecting significant percentage of customers.

I have older AMD graphic card. Since upgrading to LR Classic CC, development module works only occasionally. Very often I get just a black screen and have to restart the application. Advice from Adobe community - turn off graphic card acceleration for LR and enjoy even slower performance. Response from Adobe to the bug - none.
5D4 | 6D | 16-35 | 24-70 | 70-200 | 70-300 | 150-600 | 17 TS | 24 TS | 50 | 100 Macro | 430 EX II

Talys

  • EOS-1D X Mark II
  • *******
  • Posts: 1539
  • Canon 6DII
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2018, 12:31:48 AM »
Disappointing that Adobe’s quality control process has failed. The company seems to be losing it’s grip on photography software.

I doubt there is any quality control for Lightroom. They let customers do their QA and fix only those bugs which are affecting significant percentage of customers.

I have older AMD graphic card. Since upgrading to LR Classic CC, development module works only occasionally. Very often I get just a black screen and have to restart the application. Advice from Adobe community - turn off graphic card acceleration for LR and enjoy even slower performance. Response from Adobe to the bug - none.

On the PC that I like to use LR, I have a 3 year old NVidia.  There are weird bugs since the last update for me, too, though none crash the system.  There is some image caching going on, such that when I go to crop, it shows up an old image for a little while, and it's very jarring.  Also, performance actually went down.

I turned off the GPU acceleration, and LR is actually faster than it was before this last patch (I think).

Then again, I have no idea how the 3D video card can be helpful in LR.  In the past, I couldn't really see any noticeable gain by turning GPU acceleration on.  Ironically, the latest patch fixed the GPU weirdness.  But.... It doesn't feel any faster than with GPU acceleration turned off, so who knows.  LOL.  ::)

IglooEater

  • EOS 5DS R
  • ******
  • Posts: 897
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2018, 05:12:20 AM »
Disappointing that Adobe’s quality control process has failed. The company seems to be losing it’s grip on photography software.

I doubt there is any quality control for Lightroom. They let customers do their QA and fix only those bugs which are affecting significant percentage of customers.

I have older AMD graphic card. Since upgrading to LR Classic CC, development module works only occasionally. Very often I get just a black screen and have to restart the application. Advice from Adobe community - turn off graphic card acceleration for LR and enjoy even slower performance. Response from Adobe to the bug - none.

With the brand new LR 6 I got exactly that on my old mbp. When LR 6.x was released a week later my gpu was no longer supported.  And it was excruciatingly slow.

YuengLinger

  • EOS-1D X Mark II
  • *******
  • Posts: 1733
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2018, 06:12:32 AM »
Disappointing that Adobe’s quality control process has failed. The company seems to be losing it’s grip on photography software.

I doubt there is any quality control for Lightroom. They let customers do their QA and fix only those bugs which are affecting significant percentage of customers.

I have older AMD graphic card. Since upgrading to LR Classic CC, development module works only occasionally. Very often I get just a black screen and have to restart the application. Advice from Adobe community - turn off graphic card acceleration for LR and enjoy even slower performance. Response from Adobe to the bug - none.

On the PC that I like to use LR, I have a 3 year old NVidia.  There are weird bugs since the last update for me, too, though none crash the system.  There is some image caching going on, such that when I go to crop, it shows up an old image for a little while, and it's very jarring.  Also, performance actually went down.

I turned off the GPU acceleration, and LR is actually faster than it was before this last patch (I think).

Then again, I have no idea how the 3D video card can be helpful in LR.  In the past, I couldn't really see any noticeable gain by turning GPU acceleration on.  Ironically, the latest patch fixed the GPU weirdness.  But.... It doesn't feel any faster than with GPU acceleration turned off, so who knows.  LOL.  ::)

Ha!  Exactly the same with my gtx 1070 ti!

Don Haines

  • Canon EF 800mm f/5.6L IS
  • ***********
  • Posts: 6783
  • posting cat pictures on the internet since 1986
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2018, 07:30:54 AM »
Disappointing that Adobe’s quality control process has failed. The company seems to be losing it’s grip on photography software.

I doubt there is any quality control for Lightroom. They let customers do their QA and fix only those bugs which are affecting significant percentage of customers.

I have older AMD graphic card. Since upgrading to LR Classic CC, development module works only occasionally. Very often I get just a black screen and have to restart the application. Advice from Adobe community - turn off graphic card acceleration for LR and enjoy even slower performance. Response from Adobe to the bug - none.

On the PC that I like to use LR, I have a 3 year old NVidia.  There are weird bugs since the last update for me, too, though none crash the system.  There is some image caching going on, such that when I go to crop, it shows up an old image for a little while, and it's very jarring.  Also, performance actually went down.

I turned off the GPU acceleration, and LR is actually faster than it was before this last patch (I think).

Then again, I have no idea how the 3D video card can be helpful in LR.  In the past, I couldn't really see any noticeable gain by turning GPU acceleration on.  Ironically, the latest patch fixed the GPU weirdness.  But.... It doesn't feel any faster than with GPU acceleration turned off, so who knows.  LOL.  ::)

Ha!  Exactly the same with my gtx 1070 ti!
It probably depends on your graphics card. I can see a high end card making a difference, and a low end (or older) card making very little to none...... and even with a high end card, the difference only showing up when you do bulk operations.

Having a fast SS hard drive probably matters a lot more......
The best camera is the one in your hands

jprusa

  • EOS 80D
  • ****
  • Posts: 309
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2018, 07:47:33 AM »
Adobe is getting good at apologies.Why don't they start a beta program?

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #12 on: April 25, 2018, 07:47:33 AM »

Talys

  • EOS-1D X Mark II
  • *******
  • Posts: 1539
  • Canon 6DII
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #13 on: April 25, 2018, 12:18:55 PM »
Disappointing that Adobe’s quality control process has failed. The company seems to be losing it’s grip on photography software.

I doubt there is any quality control for Lightroom. They let customers do their QA and fix only those bugs which are affecting significant percentage of customers.

I have older AMD graphic card. Since upgrading to LR Classic CC, development module works only occasionally. Very often I get just a black screen and have to restart the application. Advice from Adobe community - turn off graphic card acceleration for LR and enjoy even slower performance. Response from Adobe to the bug - none.

On the PC that I like to use LR, I have a 3 year old NVidia.  There are weird bugs since the last update for me, too, though none crash the system.  There is some image caching going on, such that when I go to crop, it shows up an old image for a little while, and it's very jarring.  Also, performance actually went down.

I turned off the GPU acceleration, and LR is actually faster than it was before this last patch (I think).

Then again, I have no idea how the 3D video card can be helpful in LR.  In the past, I couldn't really see any noticeable gain by turning GPU acceleration on.  Ironically, the latest patch fixed the GPU weirdness.  But.... It doesn't feel any faster than with GPU acceleration turned off, so who knows.  LOL.  ::)

Ha!  Exactly the same with my gtx 1070 ti!
It probably depends on your graphics card. I can see a high end card making a difference, and a low end (or older) card making very little to none...... and even with a high end card, the difference only showing up when you do bulk operations.

Having a fast SS hard drive probably matters a lot more......

The NVidia 980ti (mine) and YeunLinger's 1070ti are flagship/near-flagship models that were near a thousand bucks a pop at launch :(

Having a discrete graphics card seems to help, but whether it's a $150 one or a $1,500 one doesn't seem to matter =X  It certainly is not like gaming, where there graphics card is everything.

I own a nVidia 1080 in my gaming computer, but that is attached to smaller, fast-refresh monitors, and isn't the ideal setup for photoshop and software development work.  When I first put it together, I tried to install PS/LR on it, just to check out the speed of PS on large files and LR generally, and I was unimpressed -- any improved speed in the 2017 PC over my 2015 PC was marginal at best.  The things that are slow still feel laggy, and the things which are responsive were already fast enough.

Random Orbits

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 2044
Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2018, 02:04:49 PM »
The NVidia 980ti (mine) and YeunLinger's 1070ti are flagship/near-flagship models that were near a thousand bucks a pop at launch :(

Having a discrete graphics card seems to help, but whether it's a $150 one or a $1,500 one doesn't seem to matter =X  It certainly is not like gaming, where there graphics card is everything.

I own a nVidia 1080 in my gaming computer, but that is attached to smaller, fast-refresh monitors, and isn't the ideal setup for photoshop and software development work.  When I first put it together, I tried to install PS/LR on it, just to check out the speed of PS on large files and LR generally, and I was unimpressed -- any improved speed in the 2017 PC over my 2015 PC was marginal at best.  The things that are slow still feel laggy, and the things which are responsive were already fast enough.

I can't even try GPU acceleration.  I built my PC in 2013, and the video card that I got at the time was good but not top of the line.  When Adobe LR first used GPU acceleration, LR would crash every few minutes.  Even though my card was listed to be compatible with LR GPU acceleration at the time, I could never get it to work properly, so I just disabled the feature, and it's been off for years.  Looking forward to building a new PC later this year that will bring me back to state-of-the-art standards/components.  My computer definitely became less stable at the end of last year, after hardware vulnerabilities were discovered and I assumed patched through software...

canon rumors FORUM

Re: Adobe Apologizes for Bugs in Lightroom Classic CC, Releases Update
« Reply #14 on: April 25, 2018, 02:04:49 PM »