May 27, 2018, 12:00:50 PM

Author Topic: Should photographers hibernate?  (Read 10771 times)

Cannon Man

Re: Should photographers hibernate?
« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2012, 04:38:27 AM »
I know what you mean. I live in Finland and we do have snow but its friggin' cold here! Now its -26c (-14f) and i really dont like freezing my butt out outside. Many winters i have only taken only couple hundred pictures but now i take pictures for a living so i have to use my imagination and mostly shoot studio portraits in the winter.

canon rumors FORUM

« Reply #15 on: February 03, 2012, 04:38:27 AM »

Lyra Video Productions

• PowerShot G1 X II
    • Lyra Video Productions
« Reply #16 on: February 03, 2012, 07:19:21 AM »
I've been struggling with the same problem here in Tennessee, although with the Smoky Mountains nearby a decent photograph is only a short drive away. 

Something I decided to try my hand at last week was astrophotography time lapse.  The winter sky is beautiful at night if you can get away from city lights.  Of course, we are somewhat limited if we don't have some kind of tracking set up, but I still had a blast. Just make sure to wear tons of layers--it gets chilly out there.

MazV-L

« Reply #17 on: February 03, 2012, 07:54:03 AM »
Have you tried Light Art Performance Photography?

Ryusui

« Reply #18 on: February 04, 2012, 04:34:52 PM »
I wish I had any kind of a winter to shoot - icy, dead or otherwise.

Where I live, it's year-round summer.  No beautiful fall colors, no pastel spring, no winter wonderland.  Just sun, sun, sun and green-brown flora.  Many people consider this place to be a "tropical paradise" but to me it's kind of hell.  I crave architecture, derelict buildings, subways, snow, falling leaves (palm fronds don't count)...