September 17, 2014, 05:36:29 AM

Author Topic: Manual Filming Settings for Canon 60D  (Read 38203 times)

jamesirwin

Manual Filming Settings for Canon 60D
« on: December 26, 2010, 09:12:57 PM »
Hi, I'm new on this forum so i hope i'm asking in the right place..  :-\

I've recently purchased a Canon 60D with a 18-135mm EFS lens (Bit cheap i know) and am planning to do a lot of filming with it in the near future..  I've been doing a bit of research on the proper film settings to get that cinematic "film look" and a shallow depth of field but i'm unsure how to manually change settings when in film mode?..  This may seem dumb but i'm new to DSLR filming and would like to know how to change the ISO, App, Shutter speed ect.. when in film mode as i can't shoot video whilst the camera is in Manual Mode..
Any information would be very helpful,

Thanks,
Jimmy..  :)

canon rumors FORUM

Manual Filming Settings for Canon 60D
« on: December 26, 2010, 09:12:57 PM »

armando

• PowerShot G1 X II
    • View Profile
Re: Manual Filming Settings for Canon 60D
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2010, 09:30:37 PM »
You just click the iso button on top and change it with the ribbed  clicky wheel on top, just try to keep it @ 800 & below when you start going up you will start to see noise but try different iso settings then watch them on your screen., set it @ 1920 x 1080 24, then set the shutter to 50 will say next to the fstop at the bottom left, and make sure when you click menu, to set movie exposure to manual or your going to be going all over the place , and then lastly dont let it really set the awb, but do that manually when you shoot that way its consistent color wise. = that covers your film look.

this is basically the "i wish i read this before; all in a paragraph when i picked up a dslr"
« Last Edit: December 26, 2010, 09:32:35 PM by armando »

jamesirwin

« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2010, 02:26:54 AM »