September 01, 2014, 04:17:46 AM

Author Topic: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters  (Read 27095 times)

spinworkxroy

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #15 on: April 15, 2012, 10:09:56 AM »
I have the Kenko 1.4TC..it's the new version but it's about 1yr+ old.
So far i've tested it with
Tamron 70-300 USD VC and it focuses even at 300mm at F5.6 which makes it f8
Canon 50mm F1.4
Canon 85mm f1.8

I've got other lenses but i didn't try them.
I don't use the Kenko much..

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #15 on: April 15, 2012, 10:09:56 AM »

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4416
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #16 on: April 15, 2012, 03:48:33 PM »
I have the Kenko 1.4TC..it's the new version but it's about 1yr+ old.

I am just about to buy a Kenko 1.4 DGX for my 70-300L and discovered that there are at least two different versions for sale: an older one with ASIN B003VN781M / EAN 4250440307085 and a new one that's listed on Kenko's site with ASIN B002C6QC3E / EAN 4961607601334

Maybe Kenko did a silent update and forgot to tell users about it? This would explain the different results on the 5d3.

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8476
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #17 on: April 15, 2012, 04:22:04 PM »
I have the Kenko 1.4TC..it's the new version but it's about 1yr+ old.

I am just about to buy a Kenko 1.4 DGX for my 70-300L and discovered that there are at least two different versions for sale: an older one with ASIN B003VN781M / EAN 4250440307085 and a new one that's listed on Kenko's site with ASIN B002C6QC3E / EAN 4961607601334

Maybe Kenko did a silent update and forgot to tell users about it? This would explain the different results on the 5d3.

There is a lot of confusion about the Kenko models, many stores did not update when Kenko went from DG to DGX and then there are the pro and non pro versions, there are so many variations a person can easily be confused.
 
 

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4416
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #18 on: April 15, 2012, 04:38:00 PM »
There is a lot of confusion about the Kenko models, many stores did not update when Kenko went from DG to DGX and then there are the pro and non pro versions, there are so many variations a person can easily be confused.

Indeed, that's why I made triple-sure to get the one that works with f8 af on the 60d. But apart from the different models, as I wrote there might be even different versions of the same model, the "Kenko Digital Teleplus Pro300 1.4x DGX for Canon EOS" model number "K1.4PRO.300DGX-C". Maybe they just changed the packaging, but maybe they silently adjusted their firmware, too:

http://www.kenko-tokina.co.jp/imaging/eq/camera-lens/kenko_teleplus/pro300_1/4961607601334.html

http://www.amazon.com/Kenko-1-4X-Teleconverter-Canon-Digital/dp/B002C6QC3E/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1334522186&sr=1-1

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8476
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #19 on: April 15, 2012, 06:07:55 PM »
Kenko USA may also have a unique number.  BTW, Adorama confused a lot of people when the DGX came out because they did not update the SKU or description until Helen Oster read about it on a forum and had it corrected.
 
I'm sure that minor production changes happen all the time, but a firmware change should be indicated somehow. Having worked in a large manufacturing company, electronic parts and processes are constantly being updated due to new vendors, new equipment, newer materials, and so on.  The rule of thumb is issue a new part number if anything functional changes, but its a fine line if a better plastic or a different process is used that should not affect the product.  It cost a bundle to change a part number, so you try to avoid it. 

Jamesy

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 710
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #20 on: April 15, 2012, 08:44:28 PM »
I just tried my Kenko DG tubes (stacked 12mm and 20mm) and they worked fine on my 5D3 with the following lenses: 24-105, 85/1.8, 135L, 70-200/F4/IS

The auto focused fine and they focus confirmed via live view.

swampler

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2012, 08:55:28 PM »
I discovered this last night, I'm very disappointed, I havent tried my kenko extension tubes yet, i'll try them later and see. I hope canon fix this with a firmware update
My Kenko 1.4x & 2x TC work fine with my 5D3. Use it with the 70-200 f/2.8L.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #21 on: April 15, 2012, 08:55:28 PM »

Renato

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #22 on: April 16, 2012, 11:26:53 AM »
I discovered this last night, I'm very disappointed, I havent tried my kenko extension tubes yet, i'll try them later and see. I hope canon fix this with a firmware update
My Kenko 1.4x & 2x TC work fine with my 5D3. Use it with the 70-200 f/2.8L.

Can you confirm which ASIN number is on the TC that you have working.  Do other lens work?  Which AF point do you use ie, center, right of center, left of center, up from center.  I have read that some focusing points work better then others.
I want to use 2x with future 5d Mark III with EC 300mm f74/l to gain the extra crop (length) for bird photography.  I have used kendo 2x DGX with 7D and 300mm f/4 and worked great.
Thanks for your feedback. 
« Last Edit: April 16, 2012, 04:33:25 PM by Renato »

swampler

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #23 on: April 16, 2012, 06:41:29 PM »
I discovered this last night, I'm very disappointed, I havent tried my kenko extension tubes yet, i'll try them later and see. I hope canon fix this with a firmware update
My Kenko 1.4x & 2x TC work fine with my 5D3. Use it with the 70-200 f/2.8L.

Can you confirm which ASIN number is on the TC that you have working.  Do other lens work?  Which AF point do you use ie, center, right of center, left of center, up from center.  I have read that some focusing points work better then others.
I want to use 2x with future 5d Mark III with EC 300mm f74/l to gain the extra crop (length) for bird photography.  I have used kendo 2x DGX with 7D and 300mm f/4 and worked great.
Thanks for your feedback.
I have the 2X Teleplus Pro 300 DG. Also says C-AF and Made in Japan on it. Where do I find the ASIN number. I looked but don't see any serial number anywhere.

I've only tried it on the 70-200. It seems to work with any focus points, but I was having issues with a few sequences being OOF, so I switched to center point, though truthfully, it was probably me missing the target or hitting the wrong rear button (still getting used to a dedicated AF-On button) as it happened again after switching.

Renato

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2012, 07:16:19 PM »
I discovered this last night, I'm very disappointed, I havent tried my kenko extension tubes yet, i'll try them later and see. I hope canon fix this with a firmware update
My Kenko 1.4x & 2x TC work fine with my 5D3. Use it with the 70-200 f/2.8L.

Can you confirm which ASIN number is on the TC that you have working.  Do other lens work?  Which AF point do you use ie, center, right of center, left of center, up from center.  I have read that some focusing points work better then others.
I want to use 2x with future 5d Mark III with EC 300mm f74/l to gain the extra crop (length) for bird photography.  I have used kendo 2x DGX with 7D and 300mm f/4 and worked great.
Thanks for your feedback.
I have the 2X Teleplus Pro 300 DG. Also says C-AF and Made in Japan on it. Where do I find the ASIN number. I looked but don't see any serial number anywhere.

I've only tried it on the 70-200. It seems to work with any focus points, but I was having issues with a few sequences being OOF, so I switched to center point, though truthfully, it was probably me missing the target or hitting the wrong rear button (still getting used to a dedicated AF-On button) as it happened again after switching.

Marsu42 mentioned ASIN up above but I have not seen it either.  I was hoping there was a way to find out which one works best. 

B&H is also confusing because they call it in their web site Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 DG 2x AF Teleconverter; here they are missing the "X" in the DGX descriptor.  Here is link http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/674567-REG/Kenko_PRO3002XDGXC_Teleplus_PRO_300_DG.html  I contacted B&H and first the Photo Specialist said they did not have the DGX.  Later I contated them by email explaining the situation and they said that it is the DGX which they have in stock.  I will probalby order it and see if it works.

swampler

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #25 on: April 16, 2012, 08:45:05 PM »
I contacted B&H and first the Photo Specialist said they did not have the DGX.  Later I contated them by email explaining the situation and they said that it is the DGX which they have in stock.  I will probalby order it and see if it works.
Mine is different from the one you linked. Mine is actually DG (without the X).

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4416
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2012, 02:51:27 AM »
Can you confirm which ASIN number is on the TC that you have working.  Do other lens work? 
The ASIN is only for Amazon, but you can convert it into country-specific the bar code number (EAN) that should be found on the box: http://erwinmayer.com/labs/asin2ean/index.php

Mine is different from the one you linked. Mine is actually DG (without the X).
The DGX is an updated DG version that reports changed exif data (aperture) to the lens. Afaik you can convert the DGX to the DG by taping three pins. But since it's "dumber" and has the same iq, the older DG might be a safer bet.

swampler

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2012, 07:14:46 AM »
The DGX is an updated DG version that reports changed exif data (aperture) to the lens. Afaik you can convert the DGX to the DG by taping three pins. But since it's "dumber" and has the same iq, the older DG might be a safer bet.
Mine has all 11 pins and reports the correct aperture (5.6) to the camera. And just to clarify, it does only say DG on it.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #27 on: April 17, 2012, 07:14:46 AM »

Marsu42

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4416
  • ML-66d / 100L / 70-300L / 17-40L / 600rts
    • View Profile
    • 6D positive spec list
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #28 on: April 17, 2012, 02:27:03 PM »
Mine has all 11 pins and reports the correct aperture (5.6) to the camera. And just to clarify, it does only say DG on it.

Sorry if I've spread wrong information, but this is what I've read when shopping for Kenko as the difference between dg and dgx - so I'm not the only one mistaken. After some more quick research, it seems the dgx reports the modified _focal_lenght_ better than the dg. And what's more, some say that only the dgx allows af with f8 while the dg does not - can you acknowledge this?

Renato

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #29 on: April 17, 2012, 03:07:13 PM »
I used 2X DGX from a friend with 7D + EF 300mm f/4L   My 7D was able to focus at f/8 without problems; my test was very short so I dont know anything about AF speed but it focused acurately.  I noticed that all the
photos I took the f-stop was reported f/4 on the photos and never changed regardles of light (I used Tv mode) but the ISO changed to adjust to different light. 

I am interested to use it with future 5D MKIII to get extra reach since it is not a croped body.. 

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5Dmk3 doesnt play with kenko teleconverters
« Reply #29 on: April 17, 2012, 03:07:13 PM »