November 22, 2014, 08:12:17 PM

Author Topic: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working  (Read 6746 times)

yuxinhong

  • Guest
5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« on: March 30, 2012, 01:43:22 PM »
The Minimum shutter speed is not working on my 5D.
I set it to for example minimum 1/250,
i will shoot with, auto iso. AV mode. F4 (same with P mode)
the camera will still take picture at speed slower than 1/250 like 1/50

anyone know who does this work?

manual page 128
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 01:45:22 PM by yuxinhong »

canon rumors FORUM

5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« on: March 30, 2012, 01:43:22 PM »

se7en

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2012, 04:33:02 PM »
lol, maybe a Userware update is in order?

yuxinhong

  • Guest
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 05:03:14 PM »
Maybe you will better understand if you read all the manual page.

Quote
* If a correct exposure cannot be obtained with the maximum ISO speed limit set with [Auto ISO range], a shutter speed slower than [Min. shutter spd.] will be set to obtain a standard exposure.

* With flash photography, [Min. shutter spd.] will not be applied.

Newbies: Please, stop posting this kind of erronous and misleading titles. The camera works but you don't. :'(

Edit (nice answer): So I guess you want to shoot something in a dark environment and prevent hand shakes. This option won't help you.


I have read the manual, and i know how to use M mode, i just want to find out why is minimum shutter speed setting is not working on my camera. either miss operation, firmware problem or hardware problem.
1. i am not using a flash.
2. i have tested both with auto iso and manual iso, no matter which i use, the minimum shutter speed limit won't apply.
3. i have tried both in AV and P mode according to manual.

and the title is not misleading, the minimum shutter speed is not working on my camera until i found the the cause.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 05:05:08 PM by yuxinhong »

yuxinhong

  • Guest
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 05:19:59 PM »
And you also have an automatic filter which seems to prevent you to see what is written in the manual or in this topic, like (let's try in red):

* If a correct exposure cannot be obtained with the maximum ISO speed limit set with [Auto ISO range], a shutter speed slower than [Min. shutter spd.] will be set to obtain a standard exposure.

You are the cause.

in my understanding it means if you set the ISO to Auto, then it will override the min shutter speed setting.
that's why i tried use manual iso setting. but shutter still go slower.

if it overrides both ways. then what is the limit for?


and thank you Ryant for understanding

I think taking the stance that someone is a newbie or that they cant read is a bad place to start. You are being very offensive and there is no reason to act this way to someone asking a question.



elsyx

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2012, 05:40:10 PM »
Quote
in my understanding it means if you set the ISO to Auto, then it will override the min shutter speed setting.
that's why i tried use manual iso setting. but shutter still go slower.

if it overrides both ways. then what is the limit for?

The minimum shutter speed setting applies only when you're using Auto ISO, not manual ISO.  And if Auto ISO hits the maximum ISO you've specified, it will start moving your shutter speed below the specified minimum, rather than underexposing.

Try raising the maximum ISO for Auto ISO if you hit this consistently.  (Or shoot in better light).
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 05:42:48 PM by elsyx »
5D mk3 | 17-40 f/4L | 24-105 f/4L | 100mm f/2.8L macro

yuxinhong

  • Guest
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2012, 05:45:16 PM »
Quote
in my understanding it means if you set the ISO to Auto, then it will override the min shutter speed setting.
that's why i tried use manual iso setting. but shutter still go slower.

if it overrides both ways. then what is the limit for?

The minimum shutter speed setting applies only when you're using Auto ISO, not manual ISO.  And if Auto ISO hits the maximum ISO you've specified, it will start moving your shutter speed below the specified minimum, rather than underexposing.

Try raising the maximum ISO for Auto ISO if you hit this consistently.  (Or shoot in better light).

thank you , finally got me understand how operate this function.

« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 05:47:40 PM by yuxinhong »

yuxinhong

  • Guest
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2012, 05:50:21 PM »
Nice to know your 5D Mark III is finally working...

yeah took me 2 days to figure it out. the manual wasn't clear enough.
in my understanding, this option is to let people to take underexposed pictures rather than blurry pictures, when the iso is set, or when iso reached its max.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2012, 05:55:00 PM by yuxinhong »

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2012, 05:50:21 PM »

RunAndGun

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2012, 06:49:57 PM »
Sounds like you may have had the "Safety Shift" turned on(it may be on by DEFAULT, I can't remember, I just make sure it's OFF), which will override it to try to obtain a proper exposure.

clicstudio

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 207
  • {+}
    • View Profile
    • clic::studio photography
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #8 on: March 31, 2012, 09:47:57 PM »
The Minimum shutter speed is not working on my 5D.
I set it to for example minimum 1/250,
i will shoot with, auto iso. AV mode. F4 (same with P mode)
the camera will still take picture at speed slower than 1/250 like 1/50

anyone know who does this work?

manual page 128
I noticed the same problem... Another reason why the 5D III is not as useful as some people might think... On my 1D4 I can set min and max shutter speeds for all modes, no matter the ISO or flash modes... I really can't wait for the 1D X.
Canon 1D X, Canon 24-70 F2.8L II,  Canon SpeedLite 600 EX-RT, 5x Paul C. Buff Einstein Flashes with Pocket Wizard PowerMC2's, Pocket Wizard Mini-TT1, Pocket Wizard AC3.

nsurg

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #9 on: September 23, 2012, 12:52:37 PM »
The Minimum shutter speed is not working on my 5D.
I set it to for example minimum 1/250,
i will shoot with, auto iso. AV mode. F4 (same with P mode)
the camera will still take picture at speed slower than 1/250 like 1/50

anyone know who does this work?

manual page 128
I noticed the same problem... Another reason why the 5D III is not as useful as some people might think... On my 1D4 I can set min and max shutter speeds for all modes, no matter the ISO or flash modes... I really can't wait for the 1D X.

Sorry to dig up an older thread, but seems better than posting a new one.  Agreed, this still doesn't work.  When in P mode with iso set to auto, the minimum shutter speed stays at or faster than what one chooses (i.e. this mode works).  Frustratingly, when in Av mode, the minimum shutter speed frequently falls slower than the value set (i.e. the minimum shutter speed doesn't work).  One might argue that it is only intended by canon to work in P mode, but in the menu screen where one sets the minimum shutter speed the "info" button indicates that it should work both in P and Av mode.

So it's either a firmware bug or a bug in the "info" portion of the menu there.  Does this drive anybody else crazy, or does it work for other people?

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • **********
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2012, 02:00:17 PM »
The Minimum shutter speed is not working on my 5D.
I set it to for example minimum 1/250,
i will shoot with, auto iso. AV mode. F4 (same with P mode)
the camera will still take picture at speed slower than 1/250 like 1/50

anyone know who does this work?

manual page 128
I noticed the same problem... Another reason why the 5D III is not as useful as some people might think... On my 1D4 I can set min and max shutter speeds for all modes, no matter the ISO or flash modes... I really can't wait for the 1D X.

Sorry to dig up an older thread, but seems better than posting a new one.  Agreed, this still doesn't work.  When in P mode with iso set to auto, the minimum shutter speed stays at or faster than what one chooses (i.e. this mode works).  Frustratingly, when in Av mode, the minimum shutter speed frequently falls slower than the value set (i.e. the minimum shutter speed doesn't work).  One might argue that it is only intended by canon to work in P mode, but in the menu screen where one sets the minimum shutter speed the "info" button indicates that it should work both in P and Av mode.

So it's either a firmware bug or a bug in the "info" portion of the menu there.  Does this drive anybody else crazy, or does it work for other people?

Do you have Safety Shift enabled?
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

nsurg

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2012, 02:14:43 PM »
The Minimum shutter speed is not working on my 5D.
I set it to for example minimum 1/250,
i will shoot with, auto iso. AV mode. F4 (same with P mode)
the camera will still take picture at speed slower than 1/250 like 1/50

anyone know who does this work?

manual page 128
I noticed the same problem... Another reason why the 5D III is not as useful as some people might think... On my 1D4 I can set min and max shutter speeds for all modes, no matter the ISO or flash modes... I really can't wait for the 1D X.

Sorry to dig up an older thread, but seems better than posting a new one.  Agreed, this still doesn't work.  When in P mode with iso set to auto, the minimum shutter speed stays at or faster than what one chooses (i.e. this mode works).  Frustratingly, when in Av mode, the minimum shutter speed frequently falls slower than the value set (i.e. the minimum shutter speed doesn't work).  One might argue that it is only intended by canon to work in P mode, but in the menu screen where one sets the minimum shutter speed the "info" button indicates that it should work both in P and Av mode.

So it's either a firmware bug or a bug in the "info" portion of the menu there.  Does this drive anybody else crazy, or does it work for other people?

Do you have Safety Shift enabled?

Good question, but no, Safety Shift remains turned off on my camera....

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • **********
  • Posts: 14927
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2012, 02:34:55 PM »
So it's either a firmware bug or a bug in the "info" portion of the menu there. 

I expect it's neither, but functioning as designed. The footnote on p.128 of the manual indicates that if a correct exposure cannot be obtained at the max ISO of the selected range, a shutter speed lower than the chosen minimum will be used.  So, it seems to be intended as a 'soft' limit.

As pointed out above, for the 'min shutter speed in Auto ISO' available on the 5DIII, the 1D X has that setting, but also has 'hard' limits (lower and upper) that can be applied to shutter speed and aperture, which the camera will not override to get a correct exposure.

So, if you absolutely require a min shutter speed on the 5DIII, your best bet is probably to set the max allowable ISO at the top (or use Tv or M mode).
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #12 on: September 23, 2012, 02:34:55 PM »

Sony

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #13 on: September 23, 2012, 02:58:00 PM »
Thanks VON. I was confused of it.

nsurg

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2012, 10:59:36 PM »
So it's either a firmware bug or a bug in the "info" portion of the menu there. 

I expect it's neither, but functioning as designed. The footnote on p.128 of the manual indicates that if a correct exposure cannot be obtained at the max ISO of the selected range, a shutter speed lower than the chosen minimum will be used.  So, it seems to be intended as a 'soft' limit.

As pointed out above, for the 'min shutter speed in Auto ISO' available on the 5DIII, the 1D X has that setting, but also has 'hard' limits (lower and upper) that can be applied to shutter speed and aperture, which the camera will not override to get a correct exposure.

So, if you absolutely require a min shutter speed on the 5DIII, your best bet is probably to set the max allowable ISO at the top (or use Tv or M mode).

Bingo, you got it right.  Thanks!  For some reason when testing it the P mode always seemed to stay faster or equal to the shutter limit set but Av did not; turns out I must have been pointing at inconsistent subjects when comparing the 2 modes, and I realize when it did go slower than that (which happens in both modes) that the ISO is in fact at my upper allowed limit.  Thanks!   That was driving me crazy, and it was all in my head. 

What part of my head was it, neuroanatomist?  Probably limbic with a brief DA surge, but now my nucleus accumbens is all lit up again.  Haha.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5DIII minimum shutter speed is not working
« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2012, 10:59:36 PM »