Gear Talk > EOS Bodies - For Video

30p and shutter speed- 1/30 or 1/60 and why?

(1/3) > >>

Waterdonkey:
I'll be shooting video with my new 5D III and I keep reading that I should double the frames per second
30p/25p/24p to get the proper shutter speed:  30p->1/60 25p->1/50(PAL) and 24p->1/50 (closest speed).

SO my question is why and  that I might better understand, what is the logic behind this?

Shooting 1080/30p I find that shutter speeds over 1/60 look very Jittery and I know that that can be used as an effect or look. I guess I find 1/60 a little jittery as well, so I windup shooting at 1/30- am I making a mistake?

bluegreenturtle:
In short, yes, never shoot at less than double the frame rate, because you're creating a look that no mechanical film camera could do by keeping the shutter open that long.   I came from the feature film world and when I started shooting with dslrs (I only do video - no stills) it seemed clear to me.  But I worked with a lot of people who were essentially stills photographers and trying out their nifty new features on their 5Dmk IIs and they weren't getting it (and ruining some footage as a result).  Photographers are used to thinking of the shutter speed as a way to let in more light or stop movement - obviously when you're working with motion pictures the shutter has a different concept as you never are stopping motion, and we can't drop our shutter slower to let in more light or it gives an unnatural and unpleasing look/effect.  Which is why videographers are so enamored with their fast primes. 

Instead of trying to ape it out I'll just give you a link:

http://tylerginter.com/post/11480534977/180-degree-shutter-learn-it-live-it-love-it

Waterdonkey:
bluegreenturtle Thanks for the link.
So let me see if I understand... when shooting 1080 30p @ 1/30 I'm in effect smudging the picture?