September 18, 2014, 10:06:18 AM

Author Topic: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?  (Read 2645 times)

Daniel Flather

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 855
    • View Profile
5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« on: May 07, 2012, 10:18:14 PM »
Hi, I just got a 5D3 and want to know if it will do for my profile pic on facebook, or should I jump to a Nikon D800?  Thanks, I gues I should have asked BEFORE I bought my 5D3, oh-well lol.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2012, 10:20:13 PM by Daniel Flather »
| 5D3 | 8-15L | 24L II | 35L | 50L | 85L II | 100/2.8 | 200/2L | EOS M | 22 STM |

canon rumors FORUM

5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« on: May 07, 2012, 10:18:14 PM »

nitsujwalker

  • Guest
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 10:20:39 PM »
For anything Facebook-related... You need full-fledged MF. 

wickidwombat

  • Canon EF 400mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 4506
    • View Profile
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2012, 10:20:45 PM »
Hi, I just got a 5D3 and want to know if it will do for my profile pic on facebook, or should I jump to a Nikon D800?  Thanks, I gues I should have ask BEFORE I bought my 5D3, oh-well lol.

nah you should hold out for that new nokia phone with the 43 MP camera
DSLR are so last season sweety darling ;)
APS-H Fanboy

John Thomas

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2012, 04:23:41 AM »
For your needs D800 is way too low in megapixels.

You might try an H4D-200...

http://www.hasselblad.com/products/h-system/h4d-200ms.aspx

...but I think that neither Hassy will satisfy you  :D

Seriously, tough, I think that at this moment on 5D Mk III we (Canon + community) should concentrate in finding concrete ways to improve it. And I think that the areas are:

- better SNR from sensor (I dunno if this is possible anymore via firmware - but definitely they should try this)
- better customization of camera (imho, they should put more options on more buttons - there are enough options which are available only on one buttons and other buttons are for many just "waste of space")
- ...perhaps they must do something to make the life of camera programmers (Magic Lantern, CHDK etc.) easier? (there are enough ways to do this but first I want to see what's your opinion)

Any other improvement?...

1982chris911

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
    • View my Flickr Stream here
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2012, 10:47:28 AM »
I can seriously recommend a Linhof 4x5 Master Technika Classic Rangefinder for your profile pictures ... it is about the only convenient way to capture snapshots ... I have mine with me every evening I go for a drink just in case I want to make some fun picture with my buddies ...  ;)   
5D MKII, 5D MK III, 7D, Sigma 12-24 HSM2, Canon 17-40 F/4.0 L, Canon 24-70 F/2.8 L, Canon 70-200 F/2.8 IS II L , Ext x2 III + some other stuff

V8Beast

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 960
    • View Profile
    • Stephen Kim Automotive Photography
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2012, 12:02:51 PM »
Hi, I just got a 5D3 and want to know if it will do for my profile pic on facebook, or should I jump to a Nikon D800?  Thanks, I gues I should have asked BEFORE I bought my 5D3, oh-well lol.

It's not a megapixels issue. It's a DR issue. There's no way the 5DIII's sensor can handle the DR demands of a facebook profile pic. What were you thinking buying such a POS? How on earth do you plan on pulling four stops of shadow detail out of your nostrils? Trust me, chicks dig buggery nose hair.

Your lens collection is also problematic. You definitely need to pick up a 135L prime. None of your other glass will be sharp enough for portrait work.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2012, 12:14:04 PM by V8Beast »

odie

  • Guest
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2012, 12:31:08 PM »
It's not the camera but the lens. You need a 200 f/2 for the portrait work sir.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2012, 12:31:08 PM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14391
    • View Profile
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2012, 12:52:09 PM »
What you really need for your profile pic is a DIY pinhole camera like this:



Instructions for making one are here.  If you like, you can write Nikon D800 on a piece of masking tape and apply it over the existing logo.  Have fun!
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

briansquibb

  • Guest
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #8 on: May 08, 2012, 01:12:49 PM »
It's not the camera but the lens. You need a 200 f/2 for the portrait work sir.

Struggling to fit my 200/2 on my 46mps Nokia  ::) ::) ::)

Axilrod

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1373
    • View Profile
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2012, 01:16:40 PM »
It's not the camera but the lens. You need a 200 f/2 for the portrait work sir.

I'm pretty sure he has that one ;)
5DIII/5DII/Bunch of L's and ZE's, currently rearranging.

nitsujwalker

  • Guest
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2012, 04:06:39 PM »
It's not the camera but the lens. You need a 200 f/2 for the portrait work sir.

I'm pretty sure he has that one ;)

the 200 f2 is a monster of a lens..  Hey OP... do you have the 2.8 or the 2??

Daniel Flather

  • 1D Mark IV
  • ******
  • Posts: 855
    • View Profile
Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2012, 05:25:47 PM »
It's not the camera but the lens. You need a 200 f/2 for the portrait work sir.

I'm pretty sure he has that one ;)

the 200 f2 is a monster of a lens..  Hey OP... do you have the 2.8 or the 2??

2.0  ;D
| 5D3 | 8-15L | 24L II | 35L | 50L | 85L II | 100/2.8 | 200/2L | EOS M | 22 STM |

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5D3 IQ FB, do I need a D800?
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2012, 05:25:47 PM »