October 31, 2014, 02:18:09 AM

Author Topic: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600  (Read 19218 times)

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« on: May 12, 2012, 01:29:08 AM »
I was just doing some test shots and when i opened them in DPP...well, am i missing something here? i still hope that i pressed the wrong button, or chose the wrong settings...something that produced so much noise....Oh maybe i expect too much....But do you guys think this noise is fine? at iso 1600...I am not very happy with that...


thanks

canon rumors FORUM

5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« on: May 12, 2012, 01:29:08 AM »

Wideopen

  • Guest
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2012, 03:32:16 AM »
That kinda looks like the noise level out of my 7d at around iso 800

Z

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2012, 05:56:26 AM »
Do you have any other examples?

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2012, 07:39:44 AM »
here...

iso 800


iso 1250...red jacket is awful...


this one is a bit better at iso 1600 but what is this red pixel on her right arm?




« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 07:42:50 AM by yulia »

Z

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 189
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2012, 07:46:23 AM »
I'm not sure... I don't have a 5D III for comparison, but they don't look great, do they?

I tend to import my images into ACR with at least a little NR by default, anyway. What do these same photos look like with minor processing?

EDIT: Just out of curiosity, what is the sixth serial number digit of your camera?
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 07:49:16 AM by Z »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
  • *********
  • Posts: 8932
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2012, 11:02:13 AM »
If you are shooting raw, and have no NR or sharpening, you will see some chroma noise at ISO 1600, even at 800.  There is a minimal amount of NR required.  Nikon does it in camera, but Canon lets you choose how much to use.
 
I went to my original raw images and turned off all nr and sharpening, and do see some chroma noise at 1600.  Not a issue, it goes away with just a touch of chroma nr.

Aglet

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2012, 12:32:12 PM »
Gheez!  Those first 2 examples with strong midtone banding at ISO 1600 are the worst I've seen from any body without a major exposure push.  That's just nasty.

Auto Lighting Optimizer is contributing to it but if you wanted to recurve the image a little in post you'd still get the same problem.

My 5D2 used to be nearly that bad with the original 1.x.x firmware at ISO 100 to 400. It's more usable now. (love-hate that camera like I do my sometimes also very bandy 7D)

Hmmm.. the image quality we thought we'd paid for...  ???  I don't think so.

I'd contact Canon with a complaint and send them the files they'll request.  As for the red hot-pixel in the last example, it's unfortunate, but that happens on occasion.  There should be a way to have it mapped out in-camera though.  I don't know if the firmware will accomplish this on its own somehow or whether it needs to be done at a Canon service location.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 12:36:55 PM by Aglet »

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2012, 12:32:12 PM »

dericcainphoto

  • Guest
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #7 on: May 12, 2012, 12:41:15 PM »
I would have that looked at. My 5D Mark III is superb at 1600.

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2012, 12:47:13 PM »
If you are shooting raw, and have no NR or sharpening, you will see some chroma noise at ISO 1600, even at 800.  There is a minimal amount of NR required.  Nikon does it in camera, but Canon lets you choose how much to use.
 
I went to my original raw images and turned off all nr and sharpening, and do see some chroma noise at 1600.  Not a issue, it goes away with just a touch of chroma nr.
i just started using DPP and can't figure out why i can't apply noise reduction? It's grey and i can't move the sliders?...

ps

Z, 6th number is "3"



swampler

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 138
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #9 on: May 12, 2012, 12:51:18 PM »
I don't see that noise in my ISO 1600 either. Could your spot metering have metered for the white background, making everything too dark, then your software automatically adjusted it back up where it should be, thus creating the noise?

Here's an example at 100% and, while not full frame, slightly cropped for usage frame:
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 12:53:41 PM by swampler »

oberpfaelzer1977

  • Guest
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #10 on: May 12, 2012, 12:58:01 PM »
Hi,
do you tried to turn of the Auto Lighting Optimizer?

On my 50D, it is the reason for noisy images. Specially in the darker parts of the pictures.

Bye
Martin

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #11 on: May 12, 2012, 01:45:22 PM »
I don't see that noise in my ISO 1600 either. Could your spot metering have metered for the white background, making everything too dark, then your software automatically adjusted it back up where it should be, thus creating the noise?

Here's an example at 100% and, while not full frame, slightly cropped for usage frame:
nice photo!
i was just snapping pictures/testing camera...so i didn't do anything to the settings...first picture metering is on black jacket and second - on pink coat

victorwol

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2012, 01:52:36 PM »
I don't see those levels of noise on my MKIII.
1D X - 5D MKIII - 7D - 24 f1.4L - 8-15 L - 50 1.2L - 85 1.2L - 15 2.8 - 16-35 2.8L - 24-105 4.0L - 70-200 2.8 LII - 24 TSE - 45 TSE - 90 TSE - MPE 65 - 180 f3.5L - 100 2.8L II - 580EX and a few Einsteins.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #12 on: May 12, 2012, 01:52:36 PM »

RunAndGun

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 182
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #13 on: May 12, 2012, 02:25:07 PM »
Yeah, something doesn't look right.  That looks like some test images I've gotten out of mine at like 25,600.  I shot a night softball game earlier this week and a lot of the images were 3200 and 6400 and they were cleaner than that.

Radiating

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2012, 02:45:24 PM »
Looks like you're using the camera without any noise reduction whatsoever and auto light optimizer on. Just change the settings on your camera, the images should be extremely clean at ISO 1600.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #14 on: May 12, 2012, 02:45:24 PM »