September 01, 2014, 10:12:58 PM

Author Topic: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600  (Read 18533 times)

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2012, 04:12:43 PM »
Looks like you're using the camera without any noise reduction whatsoever and auto light optimizer on. Just change the settings on your camera, the images should be extremely clean at ISO 1600.

can you recommend me the setting i should try?

ps
could it be that my computer's settings are off?
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 04:28:21 PM by yulia »

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #15 on: May 12, 2012, 04:12:43 PM »

Lnguyen1203

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #16 on: May 12, 2012, 04:51:23 PM »
I have been shooting at ISO in the 1000 - 3200 range and did not notice noise is a problem.

The Coyote photos were at ISO = 2000 and the Rabit at 100% crop was taken at ISO = 3200
1DX, 5D3, T3i, 500f4 II, 70-300L, 16-35L, 1.4x II, 2x III TCs

Dragon Ace

  • Guest
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2012, 05:50:10 PM »
I don't see that noise in my ISO 1600 either. Could your spot metering have metered for the white background, making everything too dark, then your software automatically adjusted it back up where it should be, thus creating the noise?

Here's an example at 100% and, while not full frame, slightly cropped for usage frame:

Correct me if I'm wrong but is it not the image in question is in RAW file and your example is in JPeg? Tnx

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8480
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #18 on: May 12, 2012, 05:51:07 PM »
If you are shooting raw, and have no NR or sharpening, you will see some chroma noise at ISO 1600, even at 800.  There is a minimal amount of NR required.  Nikon does it in camera, but Canon lets you choose how much to use.
 
I went to my original raw images and turned off all nr and sharpening, and do see some chroma noise at 1600.  Not a issue, it goes away with just a touch of chroma nr.
i just started using DPP and can't figure out why i can't apply noise reduction? It's grey and i can't move the sliders?...

ps

Z, 6th number is "3"

I can't help you with the DPP issue, mine works fine.  Try a reinstall.  Also reset your camera to the default settings, you turned on some paramaters like the ALO which can increase noise in dark areas.
 
Its best to take your first images with the default camera settings (other than aperture, shutter, and ISO), then you can prove to yourself that the camera is taking good images, and, if it isn't, return it.

Axilrod

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1373
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #19 on: May 12, 2012, 06:19:44 PM »
Yeah these are definitely not typical results.  I would turn off spot metering, that's not something you want to shoot with at random.  I'm not sure, but something looks off.  Maybe turn the sharpness down a bit? 
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 06:21:50 PM by Axilrod »
5DIII/5DII/Bunch of L's and ZE's, currently rearranging.

Dylan777

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 3920
    • View Profile
    • http://dylannguyen.smugmug.com
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #20 on: May 12, 2012, 07:16:04 PM »

My 5D III, JPG file, ISO 4000, Zero PP, straight out from camera:

1st pix at normal size and 2nd is 100% crop

Body: 1DX -- 5D III
Zoom: 24-70L II -- 70-200L f2.8 IS II
Prime: 40mm -- 85L II -- 135L -- 400L f2.8 IS II

RichATL

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2012, 08:14:54 PM »
My guess (looking at your metadata) is that you underexposed it, and the software bumped it up... creating the noise (as someone said)

Why do I think that?   Well... You were shooting on Shutter priority, at 1/500th... and your lens was at 2.8 (it's maxim aperture).  It's easy to underexpose on Shutter priority, especially indoors.

Make a proper digital exposure (over exposing slightly/"expose to the right.. maximizing data), and then see if the noise is still a problem.

My 5d3 is stellar all the way to 6400 with a properly exposed image.

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #21 on: May 12, 2012, 08:14:54 PM »

revup67

  • 5D Mark III
  • ******
  • Posts: 626
  • Memories in the Making
    • View Profile
    • Revup67's Flickr Images
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #22 on: May 12, 2012, 09:53:38 PM »
Quote
I don't see that noise in my ISO 1600 either. Could your spot metering have metered for the white background, making everything too dark, then your software automatically adjusted it back up where it should be, thus creating the noise?

I agree with several others.  Turn off that Spot Metering.  Useful (for my purpose) in a scene were you have all blue sky and only a bird which is your focal point.  It ignores the sky and grabs only the exposure on the subject up to 3% of the center of the image if my memory serves me correctly.  Partial metering is roughly 9% at the center.  Use these modes only when needed, not as an every day default.  Note on this site:  http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/camera-metering.htm where the author states: "...the camera's light meter will incorrectly calculate under or over-exposure, respectively."  Hence if the area is under exposed then you found your culprit.  I'm also not a big fan of AWB when indoors without flash.  I prefer a gray scale card and K WB mode to get those colors spot on.

PS I have the Blue Crane DVD's on the EOS 7D and they claim ALO (auto lighting optimizer) does increase noise.  So I've turned that off and use it sparingly only when needed.

Hope this helps you.
« Last Edit: May 12, 2012, 09:55:52 PM by revup67 »
Thanks
Rev
Canon EOS 5D MK3 + EOS 7D » Canon50mm 1.4 » Canon 100mm IS USM L Macro » Canon 24-105 L USM IS » Canon 70-300 IS USM L» Canon MP-E65 » Canon 8-15mm Fisheye »Canon 16-35 Mkii USM L » Canon 200mm 2.8 L USM II » Canon 400mm 5.6 L » Canon 580EXII & MT 24EX Flash

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #23 on: May 12, 2012, 10:21:14 PM »
Thank you all, i will try everything recommended...

I don't usually shoot on Shutter priority so maybe i am not aware of all the details that go with this setting...

What is odd is that i didn't turn this ALO on...I don't turn on things that i don't know/remember the purpose of...


I was ready to pack the camera and send it back...now i will give it (or me?) a second chance :)

mdm041

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #24 on: May 12, 2012, 11:52:54 PM »
I don't see that level of noise on mine.
5D III, 7D, 16-35 F2.8L, 24-70 F2.8L, 50 F1.4
70-200 F2.8L IS II

Dragon Ace

  • Guest
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #25 on: May 13, 2012, 02:46:04 AM »
A good quality camera especially at the MkIII's price range should not give you any under par performance be it shooting in Tv, Av or full manual for that matter. The fact your MkIII is performing somewhat inconsistent or less desirable compared to others, I suggest send it back to Canon to be checked if not exchanged.

Secondly, so far all the comparison we have seen are between your RAW file images againts JPeg images. May I suggest our friends to post any example in RAW files at ISO 1600 or higher please so we can see a if the noise level is the same or is it just everytime you shoot in RAW? Tnx

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #26 on: May 13, 2012, 11:37:51 PM »
 :-[


yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #27 on: May 14, 2012, 09:10:54 AM »
what is that bright-pink dot i see?

it was on one of the other photos as well...

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #27 on: May 14, 2012, 09:10:54 AM »

nightbreath

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 456
    • View Profile
    • Свадебный фотограф в Днепропетровске
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #28 on: May 14, 2012, 09:15:51 AM »
what is that bright-pink dot i see?

it was on one of the other photos as well...

I saw similar artifacts when using old version of RAW converters. Try updating your photo editing software.
Wedding photography. My personal website: http://luxuryphoto.com.ua

yulia

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #29 on: May 14, 2012, 09:26:50 AM »
what is that bright-pink dot i see?

it was on one of the other photos as well...

I saw similar artifacts when using old version of RAW converters. Try updating your photo editing software.
well, i am using latest software - any older software does not read mark iii's files....

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 5d Mark iii noise at 1600
« Reply #29 on: May 14, 2012, 09:26:50 AM »