April 18, 2014, 09:31:27 AM

Author Topic: Starter Gear (newbie here)  (Read 5628 times)

recon photography

• Rebel SL1
    • View Profile
Re: Starter Gear (newbie here)
« Reply #30 on: June 12, 2012, 01:15:04 PM »
everything i have spent on training has essentially not been worth the money buy lenses and learn online there is endless information on the interwebs

canon rumors FORUM

« Reply #30 on: June 12, 2012, 01:15:04 PM »

Axilrod

• 1D X
    • View Profile
« Reply #31 on: June 12, 2012, 02:42:59 PM »
Yeah like the others said, I would try to focus on learning the camera and all the settings involved with DSLR's, it's totally different than shooting with a traditional camcorder.  I got a T2i right after they got released and it took a bit to learn Aperture, ISO, shutter speed, and essentially learning how to operate a camera with all manual controls.  These things have been around a while now, there are lots of DIY tutorials for shoulder rigs and things of that sort, but I'd focus on making these items a priority:

Camera - T4i looks great, but a used T3i or 60D would do just fine
Lenses - 18-135mm kit is a great lens to get you accustomed to focal lengths and learn what you like, but with it's variable aperture you may want to get the 50mm f/1.8 so you have something to shoot with in low light.
Battery Grip - An off-brand grip is just fine, I've never had problems with them.  The Rebel cameras are pretty tiny and the battery grip makes it feel a bit more solid (weight can be your friend with video).  Plus you get extended battery time.
Tripod- Simplest form of stabilization but very effective, handholding these cameras is a no-no (look into rolling shutter)
SD Cards - Make sure you get ones that are fast enough for video