December 03, 2016, 05:18:41 AM

Author Topic: Softness in the top left corner of the frame  (Read 949 times)

Mancubus

• Rebel SL1
Softness in the top left corner of the frame
« on: November 17, 2016, 03:16:12 AM »
I've been using a 5d Mark III for the past 2 years, and I've recently noticed that when I take a photo of a group of people, the ones in the top left of the frame always come out noticeably softer than the ones on the right or in the center.

This apparently does not depend on the lens used, I've tried both a 70-200mm 2.8, a 16-35mm f/4 or a 40mm prime. I get excellent sharpness in the middle and right parts of the frame, but the people on the top left appear as if they were a bit out of focus, regardless of the aperture used and even if I focus on them.

Is that a common issue? Not a deal breaker to me, but I wonder what could be causing it.

canon rumors FORUM

Softness in the top left corner of the frame
« on: November 17, 2016, 03:16:12 AM »

Valvebounce

• Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • Still can't use most of it to it's full potential!
Re: Softness in the top left corner of the frame
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2016, 04:00:20 AM »
Hi Mancubus.
If you go back to early shots with the camera do you see the same thing? Has the camera received a knock, it seems from previous posts that a small impact in the wrong direction can cause issues where an impact of a higher magnitude in a different direction may cause no damage at all.

Cheers, Graham.

I've been using a 5d Mark III for the past 2 years, and I've recently noticed that when I take a photo of a group of people, the ones in the top left of the frame always come out noticeably softer than the ones on the right or in the center.