July 30, 2015, 04:38:10 AM

Author Topic: Another Question, Sir/ Madame, Dear Teachers and friends.= Jpeg or Raw for 50 MP  (Read 1933 times)

Mt Spokane Photography

• EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
Thanks you, Sir, Dear Great Teachers and Friends.
Yes, Sir, From now, I will shoot Only RAW by 5DSR, and All Larged File JPG. on my 5D MK II, 7D MK II and 7 D.
Have a great day, Sir.
Surapon

I'd shoot raw for everything that is not a throwaway photo.  I shot raw on all those camera models, and find that I can reprocess those old 7D photos and have them looking much better than they did originally.

If you need jpegs, shoot raw+jpeg.

canon rumors FORUM

Valvebounce

• 1D X
  • Still can't use most of it to it's full potential!
Hi Tex.
When I first ventured in to raw, I started shooting RAW + JPEG for a couple of months, I gave that up as a waste, of time and storage, I was wasting time trying to work out if each JPEG was good enough or not, then processing the RAW's into another JPEG, so storing one RAW, large fine JPEG from the camera, then a larger JPEG (less compressed than the camera) from DxO.
It was this situation that had me shoot RAW with all cameras and set large fine JPEG as an option on a button if I want something I can quickly pull on to my phone and email, don't think I've used that yet either.

Cheers, Graham.

Or do what I do and shoot RAW+JPEG.  RAW to CF, jpeg to SD.  When you get home you have both and can use the one appropriate to the end product.
7D + Grip, 40D + Grip, 20D, EF-S 17-85 Kit lens, EF 70-200 f2.8 L IS II USM, EF 2x III, Sigma 150-500, Sigma 17-70 f2.8-4 C, 50mm f1.8, 550EX, Nissin Di622, Triopo TR-985, Godox FC-16, some Filters Remotes Macro tubes Tripod heads etc!

20D, BG-E2N, 17-85mm, 50mm are pre loved. :)

Steve Balcombe

• Rebel SL1
It was this situation that had me shoot RAW with all cameras and set large fine JPEG as an option on a button if I want something I can quickly pull on to my phone and email, don't think I've used that yet either.