October 23, 2014, 03:39:08 PM

Author Topic: 1DX err70  (Read 8918 times)

devank

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • devankpatel.com
1DX err70
« on: August 03, 2012, 01:28:36 AM »
Hi all

I've read about the err80 problems which luckily I haven't encountered yet, maybe because I haven't used it with 85L.

But
0.5 sec exposure +/- 3 EV Bracketing (ISO 160 at F/13) causes the shutter to stay open and the camera displays err70 as you can see in the photo attached. This happens with or without a memory card installed.
This is happened on the last (In my case the longest exposure) It works fine if the base exposure I start with is at or faster than 0.5 seconds. The longest successful exposure I got with bracketing was 4.5 seconds.
I am using a 70-200 f/2.8 IS , it first happened with a 2x tc on. Same deal with a 135 f/2.

Interestingly enough, if I change to f/2.8, It works fine at the same shutter speed with braketing, :/

If anyone has any idea or can reproduce this error I would really appreciate any info. I will be contacting Canon tomorrow and see if they have any information.
Sometimes it doesn't display that error and just stays there as if it is shooting the photo but doesn't nothing for minutes straight at what point I restart the camera.

Thanks!

*UPDATE*
There is a firmware issue causing this.  Something to do with the timer and long exposures. The next firmware update (no ETA) should fix it.  No hardware needs to be touched to fix it. No need to send your camera in if you are seeing this particular issue


« Last Edit: September 10, 2012, 01:57:27 PM by devank »

canon rumors FORUM

1DX err70
« on: August 03, 2012, 01:28:36 AM »

Wideopen

  • Guest
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 02:45:22 AM »
What is err70? I recall seeing it once or twice with my 5dm3 while downloading my pix to dpp...the pix came out all choppy so i turned off my camera pulled the battery out and retried and it worked fine no errors

Mt Spokane Photography

  • EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
  • *********
  • Posts: 8874
    • View Profile
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2012, 11:11:02 AM »

nikkito

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 371
  • Argentine freelance photographer
    • View Profile
    • Facebook photo page
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2012, 11:41:25 AM »
Sorry to read that devank :(
today I got err 80 but with my 5D Mk II. Could it be because it has almost 150.000 actuations? Does anybody know what type of error you get when the shutter "dies"?
Thanks for your info
Nico
www.nicolaszonvi.com - www.facebook.com/zonviphoto

1D X, 5D Mk III, 5D Mk II, 16-35L, 24-70L, 70-200L IS, 85 f1.2, 40 f2.8, 50 f1.4, Sigma 10-20 and many other toy cameras.

Sh1n1ng Forc3

  • Guest
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2012, 01:10:30 PM »
I too have received err70 once on my 1DX but no err80 even with my 85 f/1.2l II.  Can't remember the situation that caused it because it happened literally within the first couple of minutes of shooting but it has never reared its ugly head again.

devank

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • devankpatel.com
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2012, 01:47:00 PM »

devank

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • devankpatel.com
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2012, 02:20:36 PM »
Sorry to read that devank :(
today I got err 80 but with my 5D Mk II. Could it be because it has almost 150.000 actuations? Does anybody know what type of error you get when the shutter "dies"?
Thanks for your info
Nico

Thanks!
and sorry no idea :/

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2012, 02:20:36 PM »

devank

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • devankpatel.com
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2012, 03:59:46 PM »
Can anyone try and reproduce this error or am I just too "special" to get this lovely error ? :)

M.ST

  • Guest
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2012, 03:57:15 AM »
I am lucky to have one of the prototypes without errors.

I send my production 1D X back, because error 80 came up.

If you have error 70 send your 1D X back and ask for a new 1D X.

Erik S. Klein

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #9 on: September 01, 2012, 09:23:29 PM »

0.5 sec exposure +/- 3 EV Bracketing (ISO 160 at F/13) causes the shutter to stay open and the camera displays err70 as you can see in the photo attached. This happens with or without a memory card installed.
This is happened on the last (In my case the longest exposure) It works fine if the base exposure I start with is at or faster than 0.5 seconds. The longest successful exposure I got with bracketing was 4.5 seconds.
I am using a 70-200 f/2.8 IS , it first happened with a 2x tc on. Same deal with a 135 f/2.

I had exactly the same thing happen to me this morning.  70-200 II at 5.6, +/-3 bracketing and got the error 70 several times.  Single shots at the same exposures work fine....

And I can't call Canon 'till Tuesday.

/sigh

devank

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • devankpatel.com
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #10 on: September 01, 2012, 11:29:38 PM »

0.5 sec exposure +/- 3 EV Bracketing (ISO 160 at F/13) causes the shutter to stay open and the camera displays err70 as you can see in the photo attached. This happens with or without a memory card installed.
This is happened on the last (In my case the longest exposure) It works fine if the base exposure I start with is at or faster than 0.5 seconds. The longest successful exposure I got with bracketing was 4.5 seconds.
I am using a 70-200 f/2.8 IS , it first happened with a 2x tc on. Same deal with a 135 f/2.

I had exactly the same thing happen to me this morning.  70-200 II at 5.6, +/-3 bracketing and got the error 70 several times.  Single shots at the same exposures work fine....

And I can't call Canon 'till Tuesday.

/sigh

Sorry man :/ I am in LA to drop off my camera at Canon. I'll prolly hear from them next week, I'll update this thread if I find anything from them. Btw for me I found this only happens when using AI servo, doesn't matter if you focus or not. One shot seems to work.

-Devank

Erik S. Klein

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2012, 11:38:04 AM »

Sorry man :/ I am in LA to drop off my camera at Canon. I'll prolly hear from them next week, I'll update this thread if I find anything from them. Btw for me I found this only happens when using AI servo, doesn't matter if you focus or not. One shot seems to work.


Hmm.  I never did play with the focus modes.  I had it set on Servo, IIRC, but wasn't really concerned with that.

As it turns out, CPS had a rep on call on Saturday late so I did get to go over the issue in depth with Canon.  I'll be shipping it to Irvine today or tomorrow for them to evaluate.

I'm 99% sure it's a firmware bug.

devank

  • Power Shot G7X
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
    • devankpatel.com
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2012, 06:03:31 PM »

Sorry man :/ I am in LA to drop off my camera at Canon. I'll prolly hear from them next week, I'll update this thread if I find anything from them. Btw for me I found this only happens when using AI servo, doesn't matter if you focus or not. One shot seems to work.


Hmm.  I never did play with the focus modes.  I had it set on Servo, IIRC, but wasn't really concerned with that.

As it turns out, CPS had a rep on call on Saturday late so I did get to go over the issue in depth with Canon.  I'll be shipping it to Irvine today or tomorrow for them to evaluate.

I'm 99% sure it's a firmware bug.

Definitely looks like a firmware bug, that is why I was waiting for their first firmware before I send it in, but after installing the new one it didn't change :P, I'm guessing its some unique combination of settings that is messing it up. Like you and I both have tried, it works in single exposures ^_^

Feels lonely without the camera though, I sure hope they get back to me asap   :-\

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2012, 06:03:31 PM »

Erik S. Klein

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2012, 03:47:03 PM »
Feels lonely without the camera though, I sure hope they get back to me asap   :-\

Yeah.  Mine gets to Irvine tomorrow and, hopefully, back to me by very early next week.  I've got the 5D2 and 20D in case I need them, but it was going to be a quiet weekend anyway.

Erik S. Klein

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2012, 10:28:10 AM »
Definitely looks like a firmware bug, that is why I was waiting for their first firmware before I send it in [...]

Any word on yours yet?

I spoke with the repair folks yesterday and, for some unknown reason, they are replacing the main board on mine.  I'm definitely not pleased, especially if it doesn't actually fix anything.

Just curious if yours was really a firmware issue or not.

Cheers!

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 1DX err70
« Reply #14 on: September 07, 2012, 10:28:10 AM »