January 21, 2018, 10:01:14 AM

Author Topic: 1DX - issues in low light at reception / Edit..use expansion pts, problem solved  (Read 19291 times)

mjcphoto

Hi gang,

I've been a follower of Canon Rumors updates for years, but this is my first time posting in the forum.

I recently purchased the 1DX.  Let me first say that Canon has done a nice job making improvements over the 1D MK4.  The A/I servo is incredibly accurate, and in well light back lit situations the camera is spot on!

However, I shot a wedding reception in relatively low light this past weekend and I had trouble both acquiring focus at times and with images that were out of focus (after focus had been confirmed).  Assist beam was on and hoods removed when using longer lenses. I normally shoot and ISO 400 - 640 and drop my shutter down to 1/15 and I'm just below the room light controlling what freezes as always.  In this case I was at 800ISO at a 1/15...so it was definitely darker than average.  Prior to the reception (low light situation), the camera and focus performed flawlessly!

I had a similar experience with the 1D MK4, along with many other issues.  CPS couldn't fix it on a couple of attempts so it went back.  I've been with the 1D MK3's since early 2007.  While they have their own issues (minor), during an indoor wedding reception they can acquire and be extremely accurate with focus when using an on camera Canon flash (fill / with assist beam) and triggering a Q flash as my main light (most of the time).  99% of the time I nail the shot.  This was not the case with the 1DX.  Any others out there experience this as well?

I should also point out that outdoors, the 1DX has performed flawlessly!  Focus is spot on 99% or more of the time.  I tracked a couple crossing the street in A/I servo at 1/500 at 2.8 with a 135 F2.0 lens and every single shot was amazingly sharp!