September 21, 2014, 12:30:10 AM

Author Topic: 7d - max ISO issues  (Read 7797 times)

Klahanieman

  • Guest
7d - max ISO issues
« on: August 13, 2012, 10:46:44 PM »
Hello, completed the firmeware update, all was going smooth till today.

I was shooting at a big buck still in velvet, a little dark, c1 set up for birds, ISO to auto, camera set to 800 max ISO.

To my horror after checking photos found grained out, info showed ISO at 3200???

Anyone else had any similar problems or could you test on your similar set up to see if it works for you.

I was shooting with the 100-400

Thanks


canon rumors FORUM

7d - max ISO issues
« on: August 13, 2012, 10:46:44 PM »

robbymack

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 410
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2012, 12:05:54 AM »
sounds like it took the pic at 3200 by your comments, not sure if auto ISO overrides the max setting in some functions, although I can say I have never seen it, and I am sure others will chime in.  Personally I haven't bothered with the firmware upgrade yet, don't see the immediate need right now and figured there would be a few bugs to work out, plus I shoot mainly in manual and don't trust auto iso in a 7d, it seems to always overcompensate on ISO IMHO.  That being said a little noise ninja or other NR software will probably clean it up nicely depending on the size you are thinking of printing it, assuming it's a keeper. 

DianeK

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2012, 01:20:50 AM »
Well that's a disappointment.  The only reason I installed the update was for the Max feature in auto ISO.  I haven't shot with my camera since I uploaded the firmware so I'll go test this out tomorrow.
Diane

dr croubie

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1400
  • Too many photos, too little time.
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2012, 01:58:38 AM »
I would be guessing that it's to do with you C1 Custom setting. Did you save it before updating the firmware?

Go to a normal mode (Tv, Av, M), and see in the menu what is your max-iso.
Then switch it to C1 and see what is your max iso.
If it's different, there's your answer. Just go to your Custom setting, set the max-iso, and re-save the custom setting and you should be fine...
Too much gear, too little space.
Gear Photos

vbi

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2012, 02:53:42 AM »
Seems to work as advertised on my 7D. I would think that the custom settings would override the auto ISO setting.
All politicians are scum
5D3, 5D2, 7D and too many lenses

sandymandy

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2012, 04:34:31 AM »
  The only reason I installed the update was for the Max feature in auto ISO. 

Im a bit confused. Do you mean it wasnt possible before the update to set a maximum ISO Limit used when using Auto-ISO?

dr croubie

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1400
  • Too many photos, too little time.
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2012, 05:06:14 AM »
  The only reason I installed the update was for the Max feature in auto ISO. 

Im a bit confused. Do you mean it wasnt possible before the update to set a maximum ISO Limit used when using Auto-ISO?

correct.
You could do it out-of-the-box on a 550D, a 600D, even a 6-year-old Pentax *ist D.
But us 7D users have had to wait nearly 3 years for it...
Too much gear, too little space.
Gear Photos

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2012, 05:06:14 AM »

sandymandy

  • 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2012, 05:32:41 AM »
my 1100D can do it also thats why i was a bit baffled :)

M.ST

  • Guest
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2012, 06:38:05 AM »
Forget Auto-ISO und the other auto-functions. Dial in the wanted ISO, the wanted aperture and the wanted shutter speed.

That gives the best results.

Eimajm

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2012, 06:50:36 AM »
Auto-ISO is working fine on mine after upgrading.

akiskev

  • 7D
  • *****
  • Posts: 326
    • View Profile
    • My flickr gallery
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #10 on: August 14, 2012, 07:01:27 AM »
Forget Auto-ISO und the other auto-functions. Dial in the wanted ISO, the wanted aperture and the wanted shutter speed.

That gives the best results.
SO HARDCORE!
Flickr | Canon EOS 3 | Canon EOS Digital Rebel XTi
EF 17-40mm f/4L | EF-S 17-55 f/2.8 IS | EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS | EF 100-400 f/4.5-5.6L
Zeiss 35mm f/2.4 | Zeiss 50mm f/1.4 | Zeiss 85mm f/1.4 | Zeiss 200mm f/2.8 | Zeiss 80-200 f/4

Viggo

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2042
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #11 on: August 14, 2012, 07:07:56 AM »
Forget Auto-ISO und the other auto-functions. Dial in the wanted ISO, the wanted aperture and the wanted shutter speed.

That gives the best results.

I disagree. When I take pictures of my son indoors, I set my camera to Av, limit my shutterspeed to never go below 1/1000s and set auto iso to 100-3200. If he gets some bright lights on him I get cleaner images, and I get properly exposed images when he is hit by a shadow, and always freezing his motion. Any other mode and I would either get too long speed, to much or little dof or blown images in bright light in manual mode if iso 100 on 1/1000s is too bright.
1dx, 24-70 L II, 50 Art, 200 f2.0 L

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14440
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2012, 08:18:50 AM »
c1 set up for birds, ISO to auto, camera set to 800 max ISO.

To my horror after checking photos found grained out, info showed ISO at 3200???

C1 was set up for birds.  Camera was set to max ISO 800 for Auto.  But, was C1 set to max ISO 800 for Auto?  Settings like that are specific for the C# settings - if you applied the setting in Av mode, etc., after setting up C1, C1 would not reflect the setting change - you'd have to go to C1, make the change, then re-register C1.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #12 on: August 14, 2012, 08:18:50 AM »

Klahanieman

  • Guest
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #13 on: August 14, 2012, 10:02:14 AM »
Ok, here's what I have found... Some may find this a benefit if they do run and gun wildlife shooting under all light conditions, or any fast action shooting where a full set up of camera is not possible or the shot is gone!

You can actually register a max iso for each of your 3 custom settings, and a different one for all of the other none automatic modes on the camera.

This is interesting, I tested it in the 60d and it also does the same thing, it has only one custom setting though.

This was a feature I was most interested in with the update, happy now with the way it's working, it does not state this in the "new" firmware manual Canon released.

Thanks for the input.

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 14440
    • View Profile
Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2012, 10:14:42 AM »
it does not state this in the "new" firmware manual Canon released.

Haven't read the new manual, but there should be a table somewhere toward the back that lists which functions are stored in Camera User Settings.  I know there is in the 1D X manual.  They don't mention it with every function description, just list which are stored. 
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 7d - max ISO issues
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2012, 10:14:42 AM »