August 22, 2014, 01:41:23 PM

Author Topic: What should I do?  (Read 3825 times)

TheOm3ga

What should I do?
« on: April 21, 2011, 08:25:17 PM »
Hi all!

My situation is a little bit complicated. I sold all of my APS-C gear (I kept the 70-200 f4 IS and the 50 1.8) to switch to full frame. I was going to get a 5D2 + 24-70, but now with all the rumors about the 5D3, I don't know what to do.

On the one hand, I'm a student, I don't take pictures for a living, actually I wouldn't have too much time to take pictures now with all the exams and such. That's why I wouldn't mind waiting for the new camera.

But on the other hand, the 5D3 is just that, a rumor, and even if it were announced today, it would take months to be available on the US... and even more time here in Spain, where I live. Furthermore, thousands of successful photographers use the 5D2 everyday and get wonderful results.

Anyways... what should I do? Switching to Nikon is not an option  ;)

canon rumors FORUM

What should I do?
« on: April 21, 2011, 08:25:17 PM »

LFG530

Re: What should I do?
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2011, 09:12:01 PM »
Hi,

I'm actually in a similar situation since I want to sell my 7d since it still has a lot of value.

What I'm considering and think you might consider is getting a cheap used body (like a 20d or a XSi) to be able to take pictures and wait for the mark III...

Oh and you'd have a backup, travel or small camera when you don't want to take risks with your 3k dollars cam :P

ronderick

• 7D
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2011, 09:48:49 PM »
My 2 cents:

If you're not under any pressure to make a living off photography, why not just get a 5D2 or a used 5D2? The good thing about the 5D2 is you pretty much know what you are getting, so no surprises there (if you are going to get a used one, you can take your time to shop around for a good deal).

The arrival of the 5D3 will not decrease 5D2's capabilities in any ways.