November 28, 2014, 06:37:44 AM

Author Topic: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?  (Read 9851 times)

samueljay

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 127
  • 5D Mk III
    • View Profile
How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« on: August 20, 2012, 08:44:01 PM »
Hi There!
I'm pretty sure that on my 550D I was able to set the self timer to take up to 10 frames in a row on self timer, but can't for the life of me find in the manual or on the camera how to do this on the 5D Mark III, I can only find how to take one single shot with either a 2 second wait, or 10 second wait. Does anyone know if this is possible at all?
Thanks!
Sam.
Gear: 5D Mk III <> 70-200mm ƒ/2.8L IS II USM <> 50mm ƒ/1.2L USM <> 8-15mm ƒ/4L  USM <>  100mm ƒ/2.8L  Macro IS USM <> 40mm ƒ/2.8 <> 24-70mm ƒ/2.8L II USM

canon rumors FORUM

How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« on: August 20, 2012, 08:44:01 PM »

keithfullermusic

  • Canon 6D
  • *****
  • Posts: 387
    • View Profile
    • k2focus.com | photography
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2012, 09:34:10 PM »
i don't think you can do anything more than one shot without some sort of timer/shutter cable.  i might be totally wrong, but i don't think thats part of the standard canon software.
5Diii - 50D - 100mm f/2.8, 85mm f/1.2 vii - 50mm f/1.4, 20mm f/2.8, 70-200 f/2.8 vii - 100-400mm f/4.5-5.6L IS, 430 EX II, YN560, YN568, Bowen's 500R's
---
Pics - http://k2focus.com | Tunes - http://keithfullermusic.com

spinworkxroy

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 261
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2012, 11:31:32 PM »
Sad news is…you can't…
Somehow Canon decided to remove that "feature" in their new cameras…
Don't ask me why…it's a good feature, Nikon has it…canon took it out..

DJL329

  • Canon 7D MK II
  • *****
  • Posts: 476
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2012, 11:54:04 PM »
Sad news is…you can't…
Somehow Canon decided to remove that "feature" in their new cameras…
Don't ask me why…it's a good feature, Nikon has it…canon took it out..

I guess they consider it a "consumer" feature, so they don't put it in the "pro" (1D, 5D, etc.) bodies.
Canon EOS 5D Mark III | EF 14mm f/2.8L | EF 28mm f/1.8 | EF 50mm f/1.4 | EF 85mm f/1.8 | EF 100mm f/2.8L IS Macro | EF 300mm f/4L IS

itsreallyscott

  • Guest
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2012, 12:44:07 AM »
You can do it with the Timer Remote Controller TC-80N3.

victorwol

  • Canon 70D
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2012, 01:20:12 AM »
If yiu have your camera set for bracketing of any kind, the self timer will trigger the whole bracketing series. But other than that there is no way I'm afraid. What are yiu trying to do?
1D X - 5D MKIII - 7D - 24 f1.4L - 8-15 L - 50 1.2L - 85 1.2L - 15 2.8 - 16-35 2.8L - 24-105 4.0L - 70-200 2.8 LII - 24 TSE - 45 TSE - 90 TSE - MPE 65 - 180 f3.5L - 100 2.8L II - 580EX and a few Einsteins.

samueljay

  • Rebel T5i
  • ****
  • Posts: 127
  • 5D Mk III
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2012, 01:25:40 AM »
Thanks for the replies guys! Odd that they would take that out, I found it quite handy. I would do a 10-frame burst on self timer for big group shots where I have to run in (Christmas Day and the like) and tell everyone to keep smiling for a few seconds and then you have 10 shots to choose from (as sometimes people blink / aren't smiling) Does that make sense?. Looks like I might have to grab a remote timer though :) Thanks for the help / suggestions!
Gear: 5D Mk III <> 70-200mm ƒ/2.8L IS II USM <> 50mm ƒ/1.2L USM <> 8-15mm ƒ/4L  USM <>  100mm ƒ/2.8L  Macro IS USM <> 40mm ƒ/2.8 <> 24-70mm ƒ/2.8L II USM

canon rumors FORUM

Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2012, 01:25:40 AM »

Pitbullo

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2012, 10:51:19 AM »
A pro body should have all the functionality of the consumer bodies, and then some. Not leave functionality out because it is not "pro enough" (unless it is a more pro alternative). We have to pay pro prices, they should put functionality in, not take it out. This is BS Canon!!

Mt Spokane Photography

  • EF 50mm F 0.7 IS
  • *********
  • Posts: 9187
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2012, 10:57:44 AM »
A pro body should have all the functionality of the consumer bodies, and then some. Not leave functionality out because it is not "pro enough" (unless it is a more pro alternative). We have to pay pro prices, they should put functionality in, not take it out. This is BS Canon!!
I do not agree.  I do not want amateur features getting in the way of the ones I need.  The menu would be even bigger than it is, and cycling thru 10 or more modes on my 1 series body would really be a pain

Pitbullo

  • Rebel SL1
  • ***
  • Posts: 97
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2012, 11:12:52 AM »
I do agree with you to som degree about useless functions, but this function is very usefull and should be avaliable on a pro camera without the need of accessories. I use a 550D, and this function is great for group photos. (I even have Auto ISO in M - mode).

I have never used the 5D3 (nor the 5D2), I´m gonna upgrade my 550D in a year or so, spending my cash on lenses first and foremost, but it is surprising that my little consumer camera has basic functionallity these pro bodies does not have.

(Perhaps a low blow, but it is worth mentioning, Canon is also selling themself as a environmentally friendly company, and having to buy hardware to get basic, software functions is everything but. That is just being cynical )

Viggo

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2112
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2012, 11:41:26 AM »
In fact what I do the first minute I turn on a new 1-series, is remove recording modes like, bulb, Tv, P and such. I limit it to whatever I need.

That being said, adding stuff would also mean you can leave them out.
1dx, 24-70 L II, 50 Art, 200 f2.0 L

Brendon

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • My Flickr Site
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2012, 12:20:52 PM »
I think this is something you can do with Magic Lantern.  Just have to wait it out until they officially release it for the 5Diii!

cayenne

  • 1D X
  • *******
  • Posts: 1226
    • View Profile
Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2012, 01:06:05 PM »
I recently purchased one of these:

http://www.amazon.com/Vello-Wireless-ShutterBoss-Remote-Connection/dp/B005GMVGGE/ref=sr_1_21?ie=UTF8&qid=1345655076&sr=8-21&keywords=canon+timer

And it does what you mention and more...I got it for interval shooting for time lapse....works wireless or wired if you wish, so far I have NO complaints about it....

The wired one only....is about half the price of the wireless one.

HTH,

cayenne

canon rumors FORUM

Re: How to take more than one photo on self timer with 5D Mk III?
« Reply #12 on: August 22, 2012, 01:06:05 PM »