July 29, 2014, 01:54:23 AM

Author Topic: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?  (Read 17979 times)

Britman

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« on: September 17, 2012, 04:45:34 PM »
Is no one else bothered by the piss poor max sync speed of the 6D?

canon rumors FORUM

6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« on: September 17, 2012, 04:45:34 PM »

Mt Spokane Photography

  • Canon EF 600mm f/4L IS II
  • ********
  • Posts: 8272
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 05:03:36 PM »
Not photographers.  Maybe armchair spec readers.

RuneL

  • EOS M2
  • ****
  • Posts: 201
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2012, 05:04:29 PM »
Is no one else bothered by the piss poor max sync speed of the 6D?

to be honset, 1/300 is piss poor to, compared to a leaf shutter that will do 1/1600, so no, I'm not that bothered.

Britman

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 20
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2012, 05:10:00 PM »
It's not good when trying to balance ambient and flash.

Ryan_W

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2012, 05:12:05 PM »
Not photographers.  Maybe armchair spec readers.

+ over 9,000

Gothmoth

  • Guest
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2012, 04:54:55 AM »
Not photographers.  Maybe armchair spec readers.


well you are obviously no photographer or you would not write such bull$hit.

to lazy to explain it to you in my bad english:

http://strobist.blogspot.de/2012/09/nikon-d600-think-twice-before-you-jump.html

it´s about the D600 but i hope you have the mental capabilities to translate it to the 6D...

and now canon managed to make their new camera even worse.
it´s no real help that the D600 sucks too..

and HSS is not always possible (minimum req. is the right hardware)  and steals flash power too.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2012, 05:03:21 AM by Gothmoth »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13594
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2012, 06:20:24 AM »
Not photographers.  Maybe armchair spec readers.
well you are obviously no photographer or you would not write such bull$hit..

So you, as a real photographer, are truly put out, and your photography is severely impacted, by the loss of 1/6-stop of sync speed compared to the 5DII?  A whole 1/6-stop. Wow. Can you explain what critical difference that 1/6-stop will make in your photography?

The blogger shoots Nikon - their FF digital bodies had 1/250 s, prior to the D600.  Those in Canonland gave up that 1/3-stop down to 1/200 s with the 5Dc. 
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #6 on: September 18, 2012, 06:20:24 AM »

Gothmoth

  • Guest
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2012, 12:32:29 PM »
So you, as a real photographer, are truly put out, and your photography is severely impacted, by the loss of 1/6-stop of sync speed compared to the 5DII?  A whole 1/6-stop. Wow. Can you explain what critical difference that 1/6-stop will make in your photography?

The blogger shoots Nikon - their FF digital bodies had 1/250 s, prior to the D600.  Those in Canonland gave up that 1/3-stop down to 1/200 s with the 5Dc.

well for exactly that reason i use one of the nikons from the shop when i do strobist shots.  8)

as is said... canon managed to make it even worse then it was before.
shall i applaud them?
maybe next time they cut it down to 150/s.... well only a marginal problem i guess.  ::)


neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13594
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2012, 12:56:28 PM »
well for exactly that reason i use one of the nikons from the shop when i do strobist shots.

I'd think the 1D IV would be the best bet, in that case - APS-H, but 1/300 s X-sync speed.  Or try PWs, where if you select the offset carefully you can push the shutter close to a stop (1D IV gets to 1/500 s) at full power, without going into HSS territory.
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

Noink Fanb0i

  • PowerShot G1 X II
  • ***
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2012, 01:06:43 PM »
Also strange is that even the top-of-the-line Canon FFs can't do 1/300 X-Sync like the 1D3/1D4 APS-H, only 1/250, but the top-end Nikon FFs since the D3 can do it. So that fact belies the Canon apologist's excuse that the bigger travel distance for the shutter blades due to the larger FF sensor is the reason for the slower X-Sync.
T3 is the bobn2 of Canon fanb0is.

Unposed-Jeff

  • SX50 HS
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2012, 01:09:50 PM »
You do realize that it is more than just exposure.  It is the range of flexibility coupled with action stopping speed.  Somewhere between sports and weddings we need to have the flexibility to use a wide range of settings. 

Granted the 6D will never be in our repertoire with its overall lack of features, but its the disregard of professional features in a camera that is a plastic "Pro" toy that makes the distaste for individual features such a big issue.  Yes we could get by with a slow sync speed, and maybe deal with 1/4000 max shutter speed.  But for us, whose entire income comes from photography, we need to nit pick the options our manufacturer offers us as it can influence our work.  Now i know most people say it is the artist, not the brush, but these camera's are tools, and these tools can allow us to capture moments in time that can never be retrieved.  So a tool that isn't up to the task at hand will never be a viable option for us.  The Sync speed may never be a problem for most, nor the max shutter speed.  So yes some of us may be "Armchair Spec Readers" but that is because our lively hood depends on the tools we use everyday.

bvukich

  • Spam Assassin
  • Administrator
  • 5D Mark III
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
    • View Profile
    • My (sparse) ZenFolio Site
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #11 on: September 18, 2012, 01:22:03 PM »
I don't like it, but I can understand why.  It's not just an arbitrary limitation to gimp it vs. the 5D3, shutter curtains that can traverse a FF sensor faster (so the slit can be larger in the case of x-sync) need to be lighter and stronger to be reliable.  Lighter and stronger means titanium or carbon fiber, and that means expensive.  I would guess the 6D has aluminum curtains.  When they're trying to hit a price point every cent counts. (although I think they took it a little too far this time)

Cheaper and slower gets us only 1/180 X-sync, 1/4000 max, and 100,000 cycles.

theqspeaks

  • Power Shot G16
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2012, 01:37:41 PM »
But for us, whose entire income comes from photography, we need to nit pick the options our manufacturer offers us as it can influence our work...  So yes some of us may be "Armchair Spec Readers" but that is because our lively hood depends on the tools we use everyday.

If you're a pro, why would you even be looking at the 6D?  Don't get me wrong, I think the 1/180th kinda sucks for amateur strobists.  But, someone who makes their livelihood from photography probably shouldn't be looking at "entry-level" FF cameras, right?  Canon's not marketing this camera to or making it for pros, they're doing it for enthusiasts with lots of spare cash.  The 1D's, the 5D's, and the 7D are the pro tools.  If I made my living off photography, I wouldn't trust any other Canon DSLRs to be my main tool. 

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2012, 01:37:41 PM »

neuroanatomist

  • CR GEEK
  • ********
  • Posts: 13594
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #13 on: September 18, 2012, 02:35:12 PM »
Also strange is that even the top-of-the-line Canon FFs can't do 1/300 X-Sync like the 1D3/1D4 APS-H, only 1/250, but the top-end Nikon FFs since the D3 can do it. So that fact belies the Canon apologist's excuse that the bigger travel distance for the shutter blades due to the larger FF sensor is the reason for the slower X-Sync.


For a purported Noink Fanb0i, you're remarkably ill-informed about your preferred products.  Check the specs for the D3, D3x, D3s, and D4, and they all state:

Flash Sync Speed    Up to 1/250 sec.

So, the real facts, as opposed to those you apparently pulled from some dark orifice, seem to belie not Canon's apologetics, but rather your inability to read a spec sheet.   :o
EOS 1D X, EOS M, and lots of lenses
______________________________
Flickr | TDP Profile/Gear List

bdunbar79

  • Canon EF 300mm f/2.8L IS II
  • *******
  • Posts: 2558
    • View Profile
Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #14 on: September 18, 2012, 02:40:38 PM »
Also strange is that even the top-of-the-line Canon FFs can't do 1/300 X-Sync like the 1D3/1D4 APS-H, only 1/250, but the top-end Nikon FFs since the D3 can do it. So that fact belies the Canon apologist's excuse that the bigger travel distance for the shutter blades due to the larger FF sensor is the reason for the slower X-Sync.

2 x 1DX
Big Ten, GLIAC, NCAC

canon rumors FORUM

Re: 6D Sync speed only 1/180s?
« Reply #14 on: September 18, 2012, 02:40:38 PM »