October 22, 2014, 10:45:33 PM

Author Topic: Lens for bicycle race?  (Read 8559 times)

camvonfstop

Lens for bicycle race?
« on: May 14, 2011, 01:40:14 PM »
I am new to the DSLR scene, having recently picked up a T3i/600d. So far I am loving it, and am working on my skills to get better.

There is a multistage bike race that will be near by in a week, and I would love to go watch and shoot it some. Having raced some in my past, this seems like a nice combo for me to work on shooting with.

Now, which lens to use? Currently, I have the 15-55 kit lens, a 55-250 4-5.6, and a Nifty Fifty.
I have ruled out the 50mm; with no IS and knowing I will only be handheld, I just can't see it being too usable.
I like the reach of the 55-250, but on a crop frame body, it is fairly narrow, even at 55mm. I imagine being frustrated with it at times, as I try to get shots of the racers passing by.
The  18-55 is very nice for the wide end, but not alot of reach. Of course, with 18mp to work with, there is still a ton of image left even when you crop it in post.

I was also thinking of the possibility of renting a lens, maybe the Canon 18-200mm IS.

Anybody have any experience with something similar, or have suggestions?

canon rumors FORUM

Lens for bicycle race?
« on: May 14, 2011, 01:40:14 PM »

distant.star

• 1D X
    • View Profile
    • Tracy's Shooting Gallery
Re: Lens for bicycle race?
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2011, 02:16:00 PM »

I'm guessing AMGEN. I'm going to shoot it next Tuesday in Ione, CA.

Lens choice really probably depends on the circumstances. How close can you get? Is it an uphill section where they're laboring? A fast downhill? A sprint? And unless you're going to chase from location to location, you're only getting one shot at them. As you know it's pretty fast.