Gif vs slow motion 4K60 video from the 1DX2.

Jack Douglas

CR for the Humour
Apr 10, 2013
Alberta, Canada
Perhaps a dumb question since I am new to video.

I have acquired about 2 seconds of the beautiful Resplendent Quetzal flying to the nest in 4K60 while in Costa Rica. The frames are impressive but high ISO and slightly soft focus such that to be marginally acceptable as a movie clip they really need some noise reduction, sharpening and contrast boost.

Since we are talking a very small clip here, I thought perhaps extracting the jpgs and working on them as photos and then making a GIF would be an option.

So my question is basically what's the best way to maximize the quality of a short video clip shot in MJPEG. My goal is to create a video Costa Rica wildlife consisting of photos and video and burn that to DVD for friends/relatives.

Jack

stevelee

FT-QL
CR Pro
Jul 6, 2017
Davidson, NC
GIF files are limited to 256 colors AFAIK. So they are not a good option for preserving subtleties of color.

If all the frames need approximately the same corrections, you can just open the video in Photoshop and process it more or less as you would a still image and then output the video into whatever playable format you like.

You can export the still images of all the frames and then batch process the corrections. Then you'd have a wide choice of software to reassemble it into a movie.

It is possible that it will look sharper and less noisy if you output to 1080p or 720p, depending upon your needs. If you burn it to DVD, rather than Blu-Ray, then it will be more or less SD with non-square pixels. You might do better posting the file on the web for sharing. YouTube will introduce compression, so you might just want to let folks access your final video file directly from a web page.

Upvote 0

Jack Douglas

CR for the Humour
Apr 10, 2013
Alberta, Canada
GIF files are limited to 256 colors AFAIK. So they are not a good option for preserving subtleties of color.