Please help

Hi all

As the name suggests I am still learning

I am lucky to have a Canon R5, so yesterday i was in my car and taking some images of a scene through an open window, shooting Auto ISO 320/1 f5 with a rf70-200 2.8

Having taken a few images i brought the camera inside the car to view the images, which were satisfactory, 30 seconds later i went back to the open window to shoot again the same scene and the image in the view finder was completely bleached, i never changed a thing

I needed to turn the camera off and on again for this to reset

This has happened on a few occasions now

The other issue is sometimes it goes the opposite way and goes very dark but more often bleached

look forward to some constructive advice and no doubt a little criticism

thank you

unfocused

Photos/Photo Book Reviews: www.thecuriouseye.com
Jul 20, 2010
Springfield, IL
www.thecuriouseye.com
Welcome to the wonderful world of the R5.

First, check these obvious causes (which I'm not optimistic about). You may have inadvertently changed the exposure compensation, which is easy to do. The next time it happens, check to see if the exposure compensation indicator has moved. It's possible the camera was reading something dark, like the inside of your car and didn't respond when you went to the bright light. Again unlikely.

Or, since you fixed it by turning the camera off and on again, this may be similar to the freezes that many of us have experienced with the R5. https://www.canonrumors.com/forum/threads/eos-r5-freeze-lock-up-issues.39459/ and https://www.canonrumors.com/forum/t...ur-r5-freeze-lock-up.39462/page-6#post-893009.

Some people believe it's a card issue. Others aren't so sure. As I said in the other thread, I'm just living with the freezing for the time being, to see if it gets worse or not. If it doesn't I'll try to accept it until Canon offers a firmware fix. It it gets worse, I'll send it to Canon for repair.

Upvote 0
Mar 25, 2011