Canon RF 85mm f/1.2L USM coming May 9, 2019

I agree. This is just as true today as in the film era.

I remember when I started shooting (maybe a decade ago) that caring more about the body than the lenses was supposed to be the mark of a newbie. That caring more about bodies has become the norm is... interesting.

I see more impressive shots from old bodies with excellent lenses than vice versa, though of course skill is the biggest predictor of quality.

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0
Well, we may not have cared about the body so much, but we certainly cared about the film.

Now the body is the film, so to speak, determining the look.

A decade ago the context was still entirely digital. If it were film, I wouldn't have been involved. The advice to people asking was still "get a cheaper body and a nicer lens or two".

Upvote 0
Mar 2, 2012
Now the body is the film, so to speak, determining the look.
I don’t agree. It would be really hard to pick out a camera from the look of a photo. I’d go so far as to say it would be impossible, disregarding blind luck.

Lighting, optics, and processing after the fact are what by and large gives unique looks.

• Love
Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0

Ozarker

Love, joy, and peace to all of good will.
CR Pro
Jan 28, 2015
The Ozarks
I don’t agree. It would be really hard to pick out a camera from the look of a photo. I’d go so far as to say it would be impossible, disregarding blind luck.

Lighting, optics, and processing after the fact are what by and large gives unique looks.