Letter to Canon

• Thread starter Deleted member 383276
  • Start date
Jul 21, 2010
As a landscaper, I will always try to find the sharpest camera/lens combination, which (for me) excludes smaller sensors.
With upcoming R-mount cameras and high resolution sensors, existing EF zooms and lightweight primes might not match these sensors. Sure, Canon makes new and fantastic R-mount zooms to catch up with these sensors, but here we are again, they are big and heavy...
Anything wrong with the dozens of EF lenses you can mount on an EOS R? Moreover, you can mount them with the option to put a CPL or VND behind them, which for me is far more convenient than the salad-plate front filters I have for my TS-E 17 or the dinner-plate filters I didn’t bother buying for my 11-24.

Upvote 0
Mar 26, 2014
I own or have owned the 24mm f2.8 IS... They are all very good lenses. I happen to prefer zooms for the convenience, but I would have no hesitation using or recommending any of these lenses.

If you are suggesting that Canon should make, for example, a 24mm f4 "L" lens, I'm not sure why. I doubt it would be any sharper or lighter than the 24 mm f2.8 EF IS that they already make. And, I'm pretty sure they would sell a lot fewer of them, so the price is likely to be much higher for no gain in quality.

The image quality comparison at the-digital-picture gives me the impression that the EF 16-35mm f/2.8L USM mkIII is better at f/11 than the 24mm f/2.8 IS at the same aperture. I doubt Canon is unable to make a 24mm prime at least as good as the zoom at equivalent apertures, esp if it doesn't need to have wider apertures.

Upvote 0
Jul 28, 2015
As a landscaper, I will always try to find the sharpest camera/lens combination, which (for me) excludes smaller sensors.