Canon to announce EOS-1D X equivalent EOS R system camera in 2021?

It doesn't bother you that only R lenses can use "High Speed Display" to smooth tracking in the EVF? The option is grayed out when an EF lens is attached. What kind of shooting are you doing with your R?

I see this as a limitation of the R body, not the adapter or the lens. I have no doubt that if/when the put out the sports body, the EF long glass will work very well.

Reactions: 1 users
Upvote 0
D

Deleted member 378875

I'm a hobbyist photographer

I have a 5D mark 4 and a whole slew of EF lenses : just about everything I could ever want.

I was initially really excited about moving to Mirrorless : mainly because it offered the chance to see my exposure (and depth of field ?) up front whilst adding image stabilization to my primes which would improve image quality when shooting family shots handheld indoors.

Initially, the main thing making me wait was that I wouldn't dream of moving until the EVF image was practically as good in terms of both resolution and latency as an OVF.

It appears we have now got to that point with the new generation of 5MP viewfinders.

So now I'm asking myself : should I jump to a Sony A7R4 and use my lenses with an adaptor ?

And every time I think about a Sony I come to the same conclusion : do I really want that tiny body to support my big heavy white lenses : won't it be too painful on my hands and wrists ? And, do I really want to spend £3,500 for the privilege of a horrendously uncomfortable grip ?

And so I wait, and wait.

I try to remind myself that "delayed gratification" is good for my soul ...

And, if I can really wait long enough - like until about 2023 ... then it will probably be very good for my pocket too .. as it will probably be a couple of years after the first "mirrorless 5D" that the prices drop.

So, that's what I'm going to do, and I can't help thinking there must be lots more like me out there ...

Come on Canon !

Reactions: 6 users
Upvote 0