Nifty Fifty and/or a Pancake lens are coming to the RF mount in 2020 [CR3]

Granted I have nothing to go on but impressions I've picked up "out there" and on these forums, but I think what we've seen so far in RF land is Canon putting out two good (but not superlative) bodies to establish a mirrorless/full frame presence, and a bunch of actually spectacular lenses, showing their strength, while developing a couple of superlative bodies. The R and RP, and those lenses, were an announcement of Canon's arrival...now we see a variety of bodies and we'll more than likely see some "regular people" RF lenses, too. That's been a lower priority because an EF+adapter could do the job too. But as more people move away from EF mounts, there's more reason for Canon to produce native RF lenses that do the same things EF lenses are already capable of.

I had the RP and rented the expensive RF lenses. They are really nice but your average buyer isn’t in the market for $2200+ lenses. I’m a professional photographer and I’m not even spending that kind of money, by the time Canon gets around to making lenses for the vast majority of users, it will be too little too late. More people keep moving to other systems daily, Canon should have had at least 4-5 lenses around $500 to go from day 1. A couple walk around zooms and a couple f/1.8 or f/2 primes. Plenty of users would have been more than happy to put those on an RP. I know there is an EF adaptor, I had one. It’s a PITA because it just adds size and weight and makes lenses protrude further out and makes everything front heavy. The lack of affordable lenses is why the R line has sold so poorly, not the bodies.

Last edited:
Upvote 0