Why aren’t there more Canon EOS R5 leaks?

Sep 3, 2018
No.

I personally used Canon glass on a Sony A7 III for a few months, and it was a mess. One time even in daylight conditions I was using a Canon 70-200 2.8 II shooting a crowd (plenty of contrast, good lighting, not fast action) and the autofocus just fell on its face. It just wouldn't focus. I forget if I was using the Metabones adapter or Sigma at that point, I tried both at certain times.

The idea that EF glass on Sony bodies "works fine" is pretty much a myth. It's a miracle at all that three different manufacturer's products work together with each other, but ultimately it's far from a good experience or anything I would want to use professionally.
A myth?..... Not in my experience.

I’ve been using EF on Sony a7RIII since its release (2 years?) and the AF has been excellent in all lighting conditions . Later firmware updates have made the AF even better.

My previous a7RII was a little slow but still worked. I imagine the a7RIV to be even better.

However, hopefully this will be a none issue anyway after tonight and the R5 is unveiled.

Upvote 0
Jul 28, 2015
The new Olympus OMD EM-1 III was announced today and it has 7.5 stops of overall IS combining the IBIS with the lens IS, which matches the 7-8 claimed by the rumour.

The Olympus system is very impressive. Sony claimed 5.5 stops but could by all accounts only get 2 stops IBIS on their FF which is not surprising considering the momentum of a sensor 4x larger . So if Canon's first offering is anywhere near the 5 stops IBIS it claims, that will be a very, very impressive achievement. And to me would be another example of Canon having the technology but reusing to implement it until 'it works'.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
Upvote 0

Joules

doom
CR Pro
Jul 16, 2017
Hamburg, Germany