Wedding pictures: Digital files or Prints

ethanz

1DX II
CR Pro
Apr 12, 2016
ethanzentz.com
Hello all,
I'm fairly new to the wedding side of things. I'm sure this has been asked before, but what do you guys normally do for couples: give them their pictures in digital format for them to do what they want or keep them protected and have them buy prints? And if it is the former, do you think you charge a premium because of it?

Thanks

Mar 25, 2011
The business side of wedding photography is equally importand to the image capture and editing. Don't even think of starting a business until all the pieces are in place.

Fortunately, there are many good training courses where your questions are answered. Educate yourself, get a proper contract setup and offer a variety of packages to your clients. Many want albums, so have a relationship established with a publisher.

Here, is a 12 week course (I said its hard) that covers the process from nothing to your first client.
https://www.creativelive.com/class/...ons/class-introduction?via=cl-global-module_4

There are many more classes at Creative live that specialize in wedding photography.

Skip the business end, and you will fail, its guaranteed.

Upvote 0
Jul 28, 2015
Why not ask them what they wan?
As for pricing the simplest way is to cost as if sending them digital and add extra for printing. Every photographer has their own way of doing things and will cause endless discussion on any wedding forum: some couples want a disc with all images, some insist they have the right to not deliver images that meet their expectations technically, some provide a disc of all raw/jpeg and agree to process (and print?) a specific number of them.
But whatever you do, make sure it is agreed in a contract!

Upvote 0