Recommended a good versatile lens.

I've been using my 80D for around 6 months now. So far I've just been using the 18-55 that I got the camera with. I love to shoot land and seascapes.

I'd like to get into macro photography in the future, but for my first 'nice' lens I want something that's not so specialized. I could even do 2 lenses, but at the moment I'd like something I can really work out, instead of getting a few and getting overwhelmed.
Showbox Tutuapp Vidmate

I've got a budget of around $1400, so I'd love some recommendations.

Maximilian

The dark side - I've been there
CR Pro
Nov 7, 2013
Germany
Hi itnithand !

Of course it really depends a lot on what you are shooting.

In general and if you want a versatile lens I'd be going for a better all around zoom lens instead of your kit lens.
For this IMO there would be two choices:
  • EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM,
    about the same zoom range, but f/2.8 and delivers much better IQ than the kit lens
  • EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM
    much wider zoom range at same aperture level and better IQ than kit lens but not as good as the f/2.8 lens
Some more recomendations:
cheap but decent IQ and really good bang for the buck:
  • EF 50mm f/1.8 STM
    gives you a cheap first impression into wide apertures and shallow DOF (=depth of focus)
    ==> don't think about it, just buy it
  • EF-S 24mm f/2.8 STM
    small, good IQ, not really needed if you choose EF-S 17-55mm f/2.8 IS USM
For macro work there are some choices differing from subject:
  • EF-S 35mm f/2.8 Macro IS STM
    new, great feature with macro light, but a bit wide FL
  • EF-S 60mm f/2.8 Macro USM
    old, but still good with medium FL
  • EF 100 f/2.8 Macro USM either L or non-L
    classical FL for macro, esp. with FF. Both deliver about the same IQ.
    If you do macro with tripod the non-L is enough.
    If you plan to do walk around macros eg. insects, then go for the L with the HIS