This is just a Sunday reminder of the Canon EOS R5 specifications

herein2020

Run | Gun Shooter
Mar 13, 2020
All valid points except Blackmagic is known for their color science. It's fantastic, as is their BRAW codec.

I haven't kept up with the findings on their color science I did not know it was that good; but I definitely like their BRAW codec. I did not take color science that seriously until I started shooting with the GH5. Great camera, packed with features, but so difficult to color grade.

Another issue I have heard about Blackmagic cameras is they aren't that great in low light. Personally I think if you learn your camera, the log curve you are shooting with, and the color space you are shooting in, and expose properly for those factors you can properly handle noise in post and that applies to any camera.

A final issue is that Blackmagic is truly a video body, any body Canon releases that is not a part of the cinema line will be excellent at photography as well, so IMO the only thing Canon really needs to beat is Canon.

Upvote 0
Its become a standard feature for the higher end DSLR's, the EOS R has it, and certainly the R5 would.

A question as to it being used to boost DR has been asked, it seems unlikely this time around.
My Spokane so you think the DR will be the same as the almost 5 year old 5Dm4? I’m not trying to get the DR issue going just wanted to know if there might be some improvement for wildlife dawn and dusk. If the MP go up with no loss of DR I suppose in a way that is an improvement.

Upvote 0

Joules

doom
CR Pro
Jul 16, 2017
Hamburg, Germany
My Spokane so you think the DR will be the same as the almost 5 year old 5Dm4?
What level of improvement are you expecting? Modern sensors are basically as good as it gets for now.