Search results

1. K

Triggering my 600EX-RT?

I'm using a 5DM3 and a 600EX-RT. I want to be able to wireless trigger the 600EX-RT and I am able to do so by taking the PocketWizard receiver off of my monolight and putting it on the 600EX-RT. However, I'd like a way to trigger it without having to always connect/reconnect the PocketWizard...
  2. K

Colored filters to light a background VS. different colored background?

Yes, I meant contamination from the gelled light for the background. I do not think a snoot will help. I think the issue is that my background is solid white so when I put a pinkish gel on the moonlight lighting the background it is bouncing back and partially contaminating my subject. 1...
  3. K

Metering mode with strobes?

Jim, What do you mean by: “You're correct, but this is true only for when camera doesn't control your lighting (i.e. manual strobe in a dark room, or daylight with no flash).” I am using PocketWizards to trigger my strobe but there are no control on the camera for the lights, I need to...
  4. K

1. How do you get 255 255 255 white? Is this just done by creating even lighting across the background? 2. I am working in a relatively small space and I am getting some color contamination on the sides of my subjects face/head. My subject is about 56 inches from the background, and I’m about...
  5. K

I have been doing exactly what you described in your first scenario. Though I’ve been keeping the shutter at 160 based on the max flash synch speed of my 5dm3. I didnt know that is also was based on the synch speed of the strobe... I think I just realized my confusion. I’m using a handheld...
  6. K

How do you determine the power setting for the strobe with the gel lighting the background? Is it just trial and error? I’m currently using a key light and a fill reflector at 45 degrees to the subject. I’m varying the distance of the reflector from the subject to create different lighting...
  7. K