Search results

1. V

How do shutters fail?

Thanks everyone, I will send it to Canon as you suggested.
  2. V

How do shutters fail?

I've never had a camera for long enough for its shutter to go beyond its life expectancy - until recently. I've been using two 5Dm4 for weddings for more than two years now; I didn't check their shutter count but I estimate they are probably near or beyond 150,000. Recently, one of them...
  3. V

Overpowering bright sun

Sounds good, but I am shooting couples. How well a beauty dish works with more than one person in your experience? You are basically saying that a B1 with softbox and HSS is usually just enough for the conditions, I think. That's great, that clearly answers my question. Thank you.
  4. V

Overpowering bright sun

Thanks anthonyd, your picture showed me clearly the bottom limit of the power I will need. The subject is a little dimmer that I would prefer, the background is a little lighter then I am aiming for, and your modifier/distance gives more light on the subject then mine will. And your time of the...
  5. V

Overpowering bright sun

Thanks Besisika. The distance is not a problem, I always try to position my assistant as close as possible to the subject (to soften the light). But I almost always use a softbox, so that's minus 1 stop to power. Jinbei Discovery DC-1200 is actually one of the options I am considering, and...
  6. V

Overpowering bright sun

Thanks Pookie, I came to the same conclusion after looking at a monoblock with a battery in a shop. My assistant is my wife, and she definitely isn't keen on carrying a 3kg light with a softbox on a pole. Light head with a separate battery in a backpack sounds like a much better option.
  7. V

Overpowering bright sun