7D+5DII or 5DIII?

Status
Not open for further replies.
P

polandspringuy

Hello - hoping to get some of your advice on the purchase of a new body. I am just a hobbyist and currently have a 7D, Sigma 30mm 1.4 (use 60%), Tokina 11-16 2.8 (30%), and a Tamron 18-270 (10%). Since I purchased the 7D I've shot a few concerts, the aurora borealis in AK, and several churches (Westminster, Notre Dame, etc). I now find myself wishing I had a FF body for better low light performance and IQ. Outside of a few travel/vacation clips I don't really use video.

I'm trying to decide whether I should just pick up a 5DII or to sell the 7D and go with only the 5DIII. I will be picking up an L prime or two as well. I don't do a lot of sports, birding or wildlife anymore so I don't need any telephotos or extra reach. I have a 430EXII that I use on occasion. I've ruled out getting the 5DII and selling/trading the 7D for lenses. I feel like I'd miss the AF and FPS (that said, I've never shot a 5DII so what do I know?)

Option A:
7D
5DII
Tokina 11-16 (for 7D and at 16mm for 5D)
24L
50L or 85L

Option B:
5DIII
Tokina 11-16 (use at 16mm)
50L or 85L
Non-L or 3rd party wide angle prime

A few questions:
1. Is the focusing on the 5DII really that mediocre? Outside of sports or action, are there any practical limitations? Would one experience any issues going back and forth between a 7D and 5DII?
2. Ignoring paid work or jobs, does anyone actually take a 2nd backup body on vacations? Is it worth the backache or do you wish you just had one camera to handle everything?
3. For those who currently have a 7D+5DII are you planning to go with just the 5DIII? If so, why or why not?

I'd appreciate your thoughts or recommendations.

Thanks!

Jul 21, 2010
In your place, assuming you've got a strong desire to go FF, I'd sell your 7D and lenses, get the 5DIII with 24-105mm kit lens and then add a fast prime.