7D2 or 5D3?

Wait for Canon 7D2 or move on Canon 5D3?

• 7D2

Votes: 13 21.3%
  • 5D3

Votes: 48 78.7%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am an amateur photographer that spends most of my free time trying to shoot wildlife... I currently have a 50D that I use primarily with a 400mm F5.6L lens, but will on occassion also go to 70-200 F2.8L

I have been waiting for the new Canon 7D2 to come out later this year, thinking that for my purposes it would make the most sense to stay with an APS-C sensor... but the more I read about the 5D3, the more I question if I should not act now...

Typically i find with the pictures I take, i will shoot nothing over ISO400 as i find the noise too much with the 50D.... and i am sure that with either the 7D2 or 5D3 - i would have much more range in terms of ISO...

In terms of cropping, I will often crop a photo to no more than 50%, as i find going more than that will affect the quality of the photo... again, I believe that with either of the 7D2 or 5D3, i would like be able to crop to a higher percentage...

I guess my big concern is that shooting with an APS-C camera and 400mm lens, that going to the 5D3, will not allow me to crop in to as tight a shot as I am currently doing....

And help or suggestions would be appreciated...

Jul 21, 2010
Tough decision to make before a 7DII is announced. Even then, there's no guarantee the high ISO performance for RAW shooting will be significantly improved. I preferred to keep my 7D at ISO 800 or lower. I prefer to keep my 1D X (and the 5DIII would be the same) at ISO 6400 or lower. A 7DII might add a stop, but almost certainly not three.

As for cropping, what's your output? If printing large, more pixels on target helps, so APS-C is an advantage at low ISO. If printing small (12x18 for example) or for web, etc., cropped FF is equivalent at low ISO, better at high ISO.

Upvote 0
As a 7Dii doesn't exist then it shouldn't come into the equation.