90D Autofocus help

Aug 28, 2016
Hello CR!

I am playing around with my new 90D on my 100-400L verII. I am trying to dial in the autofocus, as I am not seeing crisp eyes in my bird photographs.

For all the AFMA experts out there, I have attached a picture of the calibration target. I would appreciate some help interpreting it...

For reference, shooting conditions were:

f/5.6 2sec ISO 100
Tripod mounted about 20ft from target at 400mm
10sec timer release
Lens stabilizer turned off
ONE SHOT AF mode
Single AF point locked on to the small circle beside the ruler

This is my first attempt at using this calibration ruler. Honestly, nothing looks terribly crisp, though the best seems to be between 0 and 1.

All interpretations are very much appreciated!

Regards,

CB

Attachments

• IMG_3516.JPG
    IMG_3516.JPG
    1.3 MB · Views: 180
Mar 25, 2011
You are pretty close, the recommended minimum distance is 25 X the focal length or just over 32 ft. Sixty Four feet would be optimal. You'd want a larger target at the longer length. That target is not really intended for 400 mm lenses. You can set AFMA at 20 ft if that is the distance you shoot. Lenses tend to front focus a little at close distances, so it might be very good at 65 ft. Unfortunately, that usually means you must setup outdoors for very long distances.

The lens is front focusing a slight amount, I suggest taking 10 images while setting the lens to mfd before each shot. You may find it does not focus exactly the same, you should not set AFMA based one one image. Also take images using live view in the same manner. Most or all of those should be focused correctly.

I had a lens align tool, but when FoCal came out, I pre-ordered it, its much easier to get accurate adjustments.

Here is one using my 100mmL using live autofocus which is generally very accurate. The sharpest focus should be on or near the "0".