Anything Shot with a 7D MII

Crapking said:
50/1.2L at f1.2
1/1000
ISO 4000

I am still new at sports photography. For this sport, do you think you needed 1/1000th shutter? Would 1/500th work and that would enable a slightly aperature at the same ISO. I am thinking of a sharper image and a little more DoF.

Choosing the right shutter speed is one of the hardest problems when I started moving away from static landscapes into "things that move". :)

Upvote 0

Crapking

"Whatever you are....be a good one." AL
Nov 9, 2011
jjlabella.photoshelter.com
An Apple a day... by NAVBPhotos, on Flickr

Another higher ISO sample - converted with DPP to TIF, some basic LR adjustments then Dfine NR applied.
Quick post-processing just to see how well it cleared up. OK for web viewing but not sure it could be printed at any size.
Ps this was taken with 200-400/1.4x at 420 mm, ISO 6400 from within a deer blind at a range of ~75 -100 yards maybe....

Upvote 0
AcutancePhotography said:
Crapking said:
50/1.2L at f1.2
1/1000
ISO 4000

I am still new at sports photography. For this sport, do you think you needed 1/1000th shutter? Would 1/500th work and that would enable a slightly aperature at the same ISO. I am thinking of a sharper image and a little more DoF.

Choosing the right shutter speed is one of the hardest problems when I started moving away from static landscapes into "things that move". :)

Yes, one needs a 1000. The action will not be sharper 1/500, no matter the dof (motion blur).

So, please post more!!! ;D

Upvote 0
finally a decent day without a total downpour,went out on my roof deck and played with the AF and I am impressed it locked on easily and the 10fps makes it easy to get a great shot .equipment used the 7d mkII with 300 f/2.8II +2xIII all pics went to DPP then to LR all are cropped .

Attachments

• pigeon 1.jpg
    pigeon 1.jpg
    451.9 KB · Views: 736
  • seagull 1.jpg
    seagull 1.jpg
    505.7 KB · Views: 619
  • seagull 2.jpg
    seagull 2.jpg