Assistance with camera backpack

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Everyone,

Long time reader, first time poster here with a question. I am looking for a backpack for traveling (airplanes).

My thoughts are for a backpack which can go under a normal economy seat (not the overhead). This is not for hiking as I already have a Clik Obscura for that. My equipment is not that extensive and I'm just a hobbyist with modest equipment.

My equipment
* 7d w/battery grip
* EF-S 17-55 2.8 IS
* EF 70-200 2.8 II IS
* EF 50mm 1.4
* 2x Teleconverter
* A few ND filters, CL pol
* Lens cleaners, etc

No sarcasms please, I know I'm missing a portion of the focal range :) Currently I'm using the Canon standard backpack and it's getting a bit tight...

Thanks,
Tom

Tom said:
No sarcasms please, I know I'm missing a portion of the focal range :)

I doubt anyone will say anything, because that happens to be an awesome kit you have going so far.

As far as a backpack goes, I don't have much to say though. I'm also still using the Canon backpack, but I got a Pelican 1510 (carry-on size) for when I need to drag almost everything with, and I have a Pelican 1610 that I borrow from work when I really need space.

Upvote 0
Jul 21, 2010
The grip is an issue for a lot of backpacks, which aren't really designed for pro bodies or gripped bodies. I really like my Lowepro Flipside 400AW, but that will hold more gear than you've (currently) got and needs to go in the overhead. FWIW, the Flipside 400AW can hold a gripped body, two white zooms (70-200 II and 100-400) and ~3 standard black lenses, or body + one white zoom and ~5 black lenses).