Body forecast..?

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

dspry

I had planned to buy the 7D next month until seeing some February rumours a few weeks ago regarding the 5D MkIII, saying it was basically going to be a Full Frame 7D, an amalgamation of Canon's recent successful bodies. I thought to myself, I'll buy the 550D now and sell it later. It's a lot cheaper than the 7D and I can shoot while I save for the full frame MkIII mid-2011. Also I imagine the 550D will be fairly stable as far as resale goes as people seem to buy it solely for the video. Today was when I realised the rumours I was reading were from February and now see that Canon's plans are to make a medium format sensor (is that what it would be called?) that shoots raw video. I assume this camera will cost significantly more than $3000.

My question now is - is there a unanimous agreement on the future of DSLRs from Canon. I understand that these are all rumours but I am new to it - it seems like the '3D' has been rumoured for over a year now. I'd rather buy the 7D if there's no FF-7D type thing coming out. It seems strange to me that there'd be such a huge price gap in their product base, but it also seems to me that they're rebuilding their body catalogue. Again, I'm new.. so..

Would it be a safe time to buy a 7D? The 7D is $1550 for me right now which I think is a good price. Will the 5D MkII come below $2000?

Cheers
David

Aug 11, 2010
you're thinking about a lot of stuff dspry... let me try to help out at least a bit here:

regarding unanimous agreement on the future of DSLRs from Canon -- nearly none. lots of speculation but nobody here has actually seen Canon's road map, and if they did they'd be under some serious NDA so they wouldn't be able to say anything anyway.

the 3D -- has been rumored like, forever. personally, I put zero weight on any rumor claiming Canon is about to drop the 3D (or even developing the 3D)