Calling all birders! - some advice please!

I am a novice bird photographer and yesterday I tried to photograph a pair of Paradise Flycatchers on a nest with three chicks. The only access is from a window a little above the nest. I haven't measure the exact distance but I guess its about three meters from the camera.

I have managed to get quite a few images even with the birds been fed etc. and here are two...

One lens a 70-300L and Eos M3 via adapter plus a tripod

With the lens on the M3 I am getting exposures of around: 1/400 f7.1 at 1600iso.

My problems are:

1. Very very little depth of field = I am not getting the whole nest and the bird in focus

2. Very low success rate with M3 AF, I think the AF 'box' is too big and sometimes it will pick the branch behind the bird to focus on. I have also tried MF which would seem to maybe work a little better.

3. I have to use very high iso's to get acceptable min shutter speed and aperture. I am reluctant to go above 1600 but am going to try 3200iso next time.

4. I checked the Canon depth of field calc and on a crop sensor and equivalent focal length of 420mm (300x1.6) it is only 1.83cm at f16 and 3meters! - at f8 it is only 1.33cm..even at 300mm and f8 depth of field is only 2.74cm..

5. OK I know the M3 is probably the least suitable camera for the job, but it is what I've got...

6. Even with the equivalent 420mm lens I still have to crop quite a bit. I also zoomed out sometimes to improve (theoretically) the depth of field and to try and get the long tail in of the male bird...

The birds are very accessible and I am going back there again.

So is this just the way it is or is there a way I can improve matters?

Attachments

• IvanM-2530-F.jpg
    IvanM-2530-F.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 251
  • IvanM-2560.jpg
    IvanM-2560.jpg
    2 MB · Views: 204
I take it that you are shooting from inside the window with the window opened...right?