Canon 600mm f/4L IS II USM Purchase

My next lens is going to be the Canon 600mm f/4L IS II USM. I am an amateur and my photography is strictly for fun (lots of kids, sporting events, school trips, animals, charitable organizations). I could buy the lens today or buy it next March - I will enjoy it once I get it but I am in no rush. If the price stays the same, I would rather buy it today. If I could save $500 or $1,000 - I would rather wait...

With the recent price drop of many of the Canon lenses, I am curious if canon will have a rebate / special deal on this lens in the next six months? Maybe a Black Friday rebate? I have not followed Canon's historical approach to pricing so I would really appreciate anyone thoughts...

Have a GREAT week and thanks to everyone who makes this forum so fun to follow!

tom

Jun 24, 2013
The only way to really save on these VII big whites are either refurb or used. It's unlikely that you will find a rebate or sale price in the near future. If you are in no rush at all for this lens... What compels you to "need" one?

If saving some money is a factor for you, you could by a VI lens for thousands less... And for the type of shooting you described doing... Would be more than capable.

Upvote 0
Nov 17, 2011
neuroanatomist said:
I don't believe Canon has ever offered a rebate on the 600mm lens. I'd encourage you to check out canonpricewatch.com's current 'street price' deal – it's several hundred less than I paid for my 600 II around two years ago.
+1 on CPW-Street Price: http://www.canonpricewatch.com/product/03580/Canon-EF-600mm-f4L-IS-II-USM-price.html

I recently bought 200mm f2 IS through them. A+ service from CPW. The best thing is the lens is BRAND NEW/SEALED from US authorized dealer(very well known) with Canon 1yr standard warranty. Couldn't ask for any better.

Upvote 0
The 600mm is awesome, but it's not the lens for sports. I'd go with a 400mm f2.8 IS II, or a 200-400 f4 1.4X.